0% found this document useful (0 votes)
1K views18 pages

Cave Evil FAQ v1.1

This document contains a question and answer forum for the game Cave Evil. Players are seeking clarification on rules regarding movement on map spaces, how squad cards are revealed or hidden, counting spaces when placing objects on the map, and combat triggers. The game creator provides responses explaining that map spaces can be walked on, squad items and spells can be kept hidden until combat, unexcavated spaces can be counted when placing objects, and combat must occur if squads move adjacent to each other between turns.

Uploaded by

Unai Gomez
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
1K views18 pages

Cave Evil FAQ v1.1

This document contains a question and answer forum for the game Cave Evil. Players are seeking clarification on rules regarding movement on map spaces, how squad cards are revealed or hidden, counting spaces when placing objects on the map, and combat triggers. The game creator provides responses explaining that map spaces can be walked on, squad items and spells can be kept hidden until combat, unexcavated spaces can be counted when placing objects, and combat must occur if squads move adjacent to each other between turns.

Uploaded by

Unai Gomez
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 18

CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.

GENERAL RULES
Q: Would you mind confirming movement on the main pit? On the paper map, the hexes are
very hard to determine where they are. We play as if each space is it's own hex. It's not hard if
you really imagine where the hexes would be. But we just want to make sure the middle pit
isn't, like, one large space in which to congregate.

A (by Emperors): I agree they are hard to confirm. We decided on the more arty choice and
for such a need for tactical determination this area can be tough. If fights or arguments ensue i
hope the picture on page 4, of the pit with hexes, can help solve these problems. The very
center is a space but as with any spawn pit players cannot stop on this space.

Q: The middle pit: the outer spaces of the pit, can you walk on or across them?

A (by Emperors): Absolutely. Again just refer to diagram on page 4 if you need to see
spaces you can walk on.

Q: How are people playing with their squad cards (not refering to cards in hand at all) -
revealed or hidden?
I am a fan of fog of war in wargames as we usually know so much more about the oposing
troops than was ever the case in reality. And yes, I know that the dice add some unknown but
i still like to maximise hidden information as much as possible.
So it seems to me that you can probably play with the main creatures face up (large, medium
and small) as they would be given away even in the gloom by size, smell, noise and so on.
But what about the items and spells and trinkets - keeping them face down on the squad
means that your opponent knows the squad has some support but not necessarily exactly what
he is about to enter combat with.

A (by Emperors): Our very first aspirations of the squads was to be total fog of war, hidden
until combat, but in immediate testing it created a very random feel to the tactical gameplay.
A lot of the game play consists on knowing how to prepare for the monstrosity roaming down
a corridor.
I think you could play hidden items, spells and trinkets until an agreed upon line of site. But
even then it may feel quite random for some people. I think any creature in the game can be
destroyed by any squad if a squad prepares correctly.
There is the Shadow Orb. It's the only device that has total fog of war.
But I do like your idea of items, trinkets and spells being hidden. It could be somewhat
devastating to someone ill prepared for destruction, but it could also be real fun.

Q: Space Counting: Some cards say to place stuff d12 spaces away. When doing so, can you
count through un-excavated areas? Or do you have to follow the tunnel path?

A (by Emperors): The rule book mentions counting each space further than the point
described. It should be each open space, but there could be a collapse and such. So counting
un-excavated is okay. The final place counted should be an open space. Or if placing
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

excavating (excavated not collapse) tile should try be adjacent to open space. But sometime
this is not possible due to tile count.

GAME SET UP
No questions yet.

GAME PLAY

1. COMBAT AGAINST ANY ADJACENT ENEMIES OR


WANDERING MONSTERS

Q: I'm not clear how this could happen. I was under the impression that anytime a squad
or wandering monster moves adjacent to an opposing squad combat always happens.

A (by Emperors): Sometimes things move around due to events, items and spells. If it's
not a player's turn and an enemy Squad or Wandering Monster is moved due to an event,
spell or item, and in moving the squad or WM is moved adjacent to a non-active player,
the Squad or WM stops immediately and will combat that player at the beginning of his
turn. If at the beginning of that player's turn, the enemy Squad or WM is still adjacent to
his Squads, that player must combat those adjacent squads as his first phase, even
BEFORE drawing cards.
The way it would most often work for an Enemy Squad is if a enemy squad of a non-
active player was moved, and it was moved adjacent to another non-active player (this
may happen with items, spells or events). The player who takes his turn first would deal
with the enemy squad that was adjacent, and he would be an attacker.
For wandering monsters it's pretty much the same, if it was moved and became adjacent to
a non-active player, that guy would combat the squad at the beginning of his next turn.
It also absorbs that Squad's action. Because the squad had to combat that enemy squad or
WM in the first phase, it has used it's action (a Combat action) that turn, and cannot move
or perform actions during the Squad Actions phase.
I hope this makes more sense. Essentially it's assuring that the combat will eventually take
place. Also that regardless of what player is taking a turn, if Squads move adjacent to one
another a fight will eventually ensue. We just wanted to make sure that a player's turn
would not be broken up by a fight between other players or Wandering Monsters just
because they moved adjacent to one another within an active player's turn.
This phase is not super common but it can happen a few times a game.

2. CONJURATION OF FORBIDEN KNOWLEDGE

Q: Can a player give any of his squads resources when he chooses to discard or does it
have to go to the necromancer squad? If the answer is any squad, is it any one squad or
can the resources be split among any number of squads?

A: The resources have to go to the Necromancer, as he is the one performing the


Invocation.
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

These resources can instantly be 'chain' passed to other squads if adjacent, or given to
others in the necromancers squad at that point.

3. SQUAD ACTIONS

A. Invoke

Q: The rules for movement in combo with invoking are stated in two places.
On page 12:
If the Necromancer moved before or after Invoking, the new Squad or the existing Squad
that received the Invoked card CANNOT move.
This seems to imply that the movement restriction is enforced no matter what type of card
is being invoked into a new or existing squad, thus moving next to a squad and invoking
an item or spell into it would then prevent that squad from taking its movement.
On page 22:
If a Necromancer Invokes a new Creature card and places Creature/s into new or existing
Squad, the Necromancer may move OR the new Squad (or squad the invoked creature
joins) may move but not both.
This seems to imply that the movement restriction applies only when the invoked card is a
creature, thus in the above situation a squad that receives only an invoked item or spell
after the Necro has moved is still free to use its own movement.
Which interpretation is correct?

A (by Emperors): 2 is Correct. Movement restrictions only apply to creatures. Items,


Spells and resources could be passed from one end of the board to the other after being
invoked or picked up.
This movement restriction is in place to curb what we called "missiles". We are trying to
assure no creature gets a movement advantage. If the Necromancer can move 3 spaces and
Invoke a Drakor and then the Drakor could move 6 spaces moving a total of 9 spaces in
one turn.
We wanted to assure players could count spaces and could make calculated guesses at the
possible dangers. Crazy sudden movement could still occur, but not as often. A Drakor
could be made and have a Tooth of Speed added and be just as sudden. But rare.

B. Secondary Conjuration

Q: If I invoke with my necromancer and DO NOT walk with him I can draw an additinal
card (but not use it for ressources) right?

A (by Emperors): Drawing an additional card is an action for a necromancer. So the


necromancer can either draw the additional card or invoke, but not both. To draw an
additional card as a necromancer, it is true it can not move at all.

Q: Can a necromancer choose a card from a discard pile as his secondary conjuration pick
or must it be an unknown draw from one of the decks?
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

A (by Emperors): It must be drawn face down from the deck. This is to assure that a
player can not draw a card, take it for the resources, discard it and pick it up again with
Secondary Conjuration.

C. Cast Spells

Q: Spellcasting is considered as a squad action. But how many spells can I cast with same
squad per one turn? It´s always ONE spell per squad or it depends on number of
spellcasters in my squad or it depends on number of items which spellcaster can
carry/use?
Example 1: I have squad with 2 Necromonks. They both are capable carry/use one item
and are spellcasters. If I have 2 spells in this squad, can I cast both spells in same turn?
Example 2: I have squad with only 1 Necromancer which is capable carry/use 2 items and
is carrying 2 spells. Same question as in previous example.

A (by Emperors): You have found a flaw in the rules. Or shall I say an unstated
clarification. Thematically these creatures are chanting these spells (a spells takes time to
cast) and therefore meant to be one per creature. But I do not see where I wrote this. In
fact I see plural words like "Cast Spells" and "A Spellcaster can only cast the Spells its
Squad is Carrying"
When writing the rules, I intended to mean since a Squad can be filled with more than one
spellcaster you could have a variety of spells being cast from the squad, each creature
casting one spell.
In further rule updates this should read "Each Creature in the Squad may cast one Spell."
and the above line should be re-written to say "A Spellcaster can only cast from the Spells
its Squad is Carrying."

D. Excavation/Collapse

Q: If you collapse a tunnel do you have to start at the same positions like when you would
dig a new one?

A (by Emperors): The collapse would begin adjacent to your excavators. So the
excavators would not be inside the collapse.

Q: We argued that the collapse must begin in an excavated space. Was this correct?

A (by Emperors): A collapse must always begin in an excavated area, any area beyond
the first excavated hex can be anything (except obviously spawn pits, lairs and jagged
corrupted steel.
An excavation must begin in an unexcavated area adjacent to an excavated
space. Any space after this first space can be anything.
Items and creatures must be placed on excavated spaces.

Q: When the collapse tile is placed, can it go in any direction? For instance, let's say the
collapse tile is a Great Hall. Can the Necromancer cast Chaotic Collapse d12 spaces down
a hall then align the collapse all the way back up the hall?
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

A (by Emperors): Not suppose to. We'd like players to always keep going in the said
direction, but understand if situations arise in which that can not be done.

Q: Can the collapse begin in an excavated space, stretch through un-excavated space, and
then affect another excavated space?

A (by Emperors): Absolutely. Players just must try to adhere to placing the first space of
the new tile on the noted excavated area. Any space after can be anything. Thematically,
the situation is crumbling said space and the ceiling around that space also falls, perhaps
even caving in another tunnel a few spaces away.

Q: I assume if, for example, squad IV cannot move (after being trapped by a collapse) but
can excavate, it will be able to excavate/open an adjacent hex once digging is complete
(but cannot open the hex squad IV occupies).
Normally, once excavation is complete, the excavating squad can move one hex into the
new area. However, movement is prevented for the trapped squad. Therefore how can a
squad escape unless it is dug out by another squad ?
Or, can a squad that is trapped still move one hex into an area that it has just excavated.
This seems a good answer to me but is it correct ?

A (by Emperors): The only part of tile placement you must respect is that the "first
space" of the new tile needs to be placed adjacent to the excavating squad. After that the
tile can cover pretty much anything except Spawn Pits, Lair Spaces, and any Corrupt
Jagged Steel surrounding lair. We've seen some weird excavation placements that do
follow these rules.
Thematically these digging actions are not really the excavators digging these entire
tunnels, but rather unearthing tunnels and temples that have been there for centuries in
some cases. This is why the random card draw is employed. A collapse could be puny or
gigantic depending on if these diggers wiggle the rocks of the underworld at the right spot.
So the rule of placing at least one space adjacent just means they dug that particular
portion at least, but this digging caused the ceilings to fall elsewhere.
To Note: "First space" of new tile is kind of a silly term. Perhaps "a space", but we wanted
it to be an obvious edge of these tiles. Not sure the best term. A temple for instance could
be any edge, but there is an obvious intuitive opening edge to those tiles. There is a better
term.

Q: Page 14: Declare and Begin Excavation/Collapse wrote:


As a Squad Action the player Declares whether they are Excavating or Collapsing....The
Squad's action is then done for this turn. It has begun to dig.
Page 15: Immediate Excavator wrote:
NOTE: Any Squad with 4 or more Excavation Speed Declares Excavation or Collapse
and immediately Finishes Digging...A Squad this fast is known as an Immediate
Excavator
The first quote seems to suggest starting an excavation takes your entire action, and you
can't Finish it immediately, whereas the 2nd quote suggests you can...?

A (by Emperors): An excavation with 1 Excavator would take 4 turns. 1 turn to declare
(prep) the dig. And 3 turns to do the dig. Immediate excavators can do everything in one
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

action.
Other things to help out. If you play with "Flank Digging" as described in advanced
section, immediate excavation can be easier.

E. Combat

Q: My question is about atacking a crystal when the crystal hex is occupied


2 players: RED and WHITE
RED squad V is adjacent to WHITES Crystal but WHITE squad II is in the crystal hex
and WHITE squad IV is adjacent

A (by Emperors): If a friendly Squad stands on the crystal hex it would be considered
"stacked" with the 12s base attribute. So if could get very good protection from a large of
stacked squad. Any other adjacent friendly Squads would add to the Flank attribute value.
So the crystal could get great protection, but it is an investment.

Q: Can RED attack the crystal given that the hex is occupied by WHITE squad II ?

A (by Emperors): Yes, as above. The 12s attribute is added for defense allong with
WHITE II's attributes. IMPORTANT TO NOTE THE 12s DEFENSIVE ATTRIBUTES
OF THE CRYSTAL POWER IS MERELY A DEFENSIVE VALUE, AND DOES NOT
PROVIDE ATTACK VALUE.

Q: WHITE squad IV is adjacent to the hex so can flank defend but can WHITE squad II
contribute as it is in the crystal hex itself ?

A (by Emperors): Yes. And if it were a defensive combat 12s could be added. if
offensive just regular squad values are added.

Q: The Necromancer defends from his remote location but does anything change if his
squad is actually in the crystal hex ?

A (by Emperors): Good question and not stated in the rules. He would be just an normal
Necromancer squad. Anything it is stacked with could be used in defense. It would NOT
get the 12s added, as it's soul and its shell is standing on the same hex. An interesting
thing to note. If it were adjacent, it would be able to defend as a squad AND would get the
12s as adjacent support, its soul and its skeleton dust shell are standing side by side in
separate hexes. Thanks so much for pointing this out.

Q: If RED squad is IN the crystal hex, can it attack the crystal or can it only do so from an
adjacent hex.
A (by Emperors): The crystal is like an enemy, the Red Squad would have to stop
adjacent to the crystal and conduct combat as it would any other enemy hex. Again sadly
this is not clearly stated in the rules. Red would never be able to stand on it, only combat it
from the adjacent space.
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

F. Flanking Combat

Q: Flanking Wandering Monsters: If you attack a wandering monster and it has another
wandering monster adjacent to it, will the second WM help you in flanking combat?

A (by Emperors): The two wandering guys would fight you. They work together until
one can be subdued or hired.

Q: If I have two squads within move range of an opponents crystal, when I move the first
squad in to fight, can I move the other in to flank like I can in a normal attack? Or is there
a special exception for crystals. The rules mention defensive flanks, but do not specify if
offensive flanks are legal against a crystal.

A (by Emperors): Yes. Absolutely.


Also the Chthonic Crystal CAN receive defensive flank combat. Meaning while the raw
power of the necromancer is fighting (with just 12s)through the Chthonic Crystal Its
minions can be positioned in the lair to aid in defensive flank.

Q: Flanking combat rules say, if there are adjacent enemy squads they have to be fought
seperatly. So attacking with 3 squads adjacent to 2 enemy squads; which player is
deciding who has to fight whom?

A (by Emperors): This is sadly not stated in rules. But the player controlling the "extra"
Squad would get the choice. Even if it was the defender's extra squad. Although the extra
squad may be being attacked from both sides, the Squad is still tapped into the control of
its necromancer, so is driven by the will of the wizard regardless. So if the wizard's desire
is to fight one of the Squads and not the other that's his Squad to control.

Q: Does this expend the action of both squads involved or just the squad that initiates the
attack or excavation?

A (by Emperors): If any Squad participated in a Flank Combat action than its action is
expended. So if 2 different Squads are in Flank Combat both Squads used the Flank
Combat action.

G. Ranged Combat

Q: Here's a question that came up during a recent game:


Squad A makes a ranged attack on Squad B.
Squad B uses his Item card (Axe, +5 to weapon, -3 to enemy Strength).
Is this Axe really effective in defending against a ranged attack? We played it as if it were
effective, but thematically it seemed a bit odd to decrease the strength of a ranged attacker
2 hexes away.
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

A (by Emperors): Great question!


It is added as a bonus. The axe is so hulking that it could possibly deflect the range attack.
The metal itself is so tough that the range attack lost 3 of its strength hitting it.
It does seem odd, but any item will be a bonus unless a card were to say otherwise.

Q: From the Ranged Combat rules, p.19:

Attacker may use Ranged Squads to Flank. Defending Friendly Squads being Attacked
cannot participate in any sort of defensive Flanked Combat with other Squads.

I think I understand the first sentence. I have no idea what the second sentence means.
Please help me understand.

A (by Emperors): It's an overly wordy sentence that we could have just said Attacker
may use Range Squads to Flank attack, Defenders may not use Defending "Range"
Squads in Flank Combat. You are very correct, the word Range should be there.
This was a tough rule to come to for us, and we did it to simplify the amount of brain burn
that would result from this. And to hurry along combat. Essentially if we allow Defensive
Flanking to occur, fruitless mini combats could essentially occur between different squads
that are in range of each other all within what was supposed to be ONE combat occurring.
I wish I could show you an example. We felt it squeezed a little fun out of it.
We felt, although more powerful, the attacker could use the Range Squad to help in Flank
Combat because he could have some sort of element of surprise over Defender. And it
concentrates on the ONE fight at hand.

H. Hire

No questions yet.

I. Subdue

Q: Ranged Subdual: Subdue attacks at range are illegal. True or False?

A (by Emperors): You can range subdue.

Extra Activities of Squad Actions (Movement, Pick Up, Pass, Abilities)

Q: A few cards cause a squad to "attack itself." I'm not clear on exactly how that plays out
and have not found a specific section of the rulebook that gives an example of this. Does
the player controling the squad divide its units into attackers and defenders?

A (by Emperors): It would be your choice in which creature you'd like to attack with. For
instance if insanity demon were to use this ability the opponent can choose how to attack
itself. We'd expect the player to prefer a dominant one to survive. But it really can happen
in any player's preferred choice.

Q: Every squad can only do ONE action right? I can walk with my creatures whenever I
want between the actions and as long as I have "walking" points left I can continue
walking after I done my action.
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

A (by Emperors): Every squad can make one action. And it can be done before or after
walking. Except combat, hiring, or subdue will end movement. Invoking and excavating
has movement specific details as well.

Q: Burrowing/Ghost Movement: Some creatures have the ability to move 1 hex through
un-excavated areas. Can they combine this with regular movement or is this their only
move allowed? Let's say I want to move 2 regular spaces, then move 1 space into the
black, then back into a tunnel and keep going. Cool?

A (by Emperors): Absolutely okay to do. They just have their one in un-excavated space
limits.

Q: In order to "Pick Up" Items, Spells, or Resources, does your squad need to be standing
in the same space as the things you're collecting? I don't think the rules specify, although
the example on p.23 seems to imply it.
If you normally have to stand on top of things to pick them up, are Spawn Pits an
exception to the normal rule? I assume you can Pick Up from an adjacent space, since
squads aren't allowed to traverse the Spawn Pits.

A (by Emperors): Very sorry if rules are unclear. Squads are supposed to move over
spaces to collect Items, Resources, and Spells. They may move over Spawn Pits, but
cannot end their move on them.

4. EVENT OUTCOMES

Q: If an event card is picked up du to excavation, shall it be played, like other events, at


the very last phase of a turn?
The question arose during my last game, where the event text was something like "the
excavating squad must do (blabla)".
It seemed to me strange to proceed like that:
1/ finishing excavating
2/ draw an excavating card (the event, in our case) -and not playing it
3/ draw another excavating card (till the card is not an event)
4/ make other squad's action
5/ resolving the excavating event

A (by Emperors): Yes, any event drawn throughout your turn will be played During
Phase 4. On Pg 14 of rules in Excavation Tile Placement section:
"*If the card is an Event it is placed face up near the player, it will be performed in phase
4. ANother Excavation card is immediately redrawn until a card with a tile symbol is
drawn."
The Event cards are seismic activities that occurred while digging. Rather than
interrupting your Action phase with activating the Events, all Events are done in order in
Phase 4.
The timing may seem strange, like a delayed reaction to what has occurred. Doing Events
in the middle of your Action Phase or Card Draw Phase can get confusing and it's easy to
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

forget all the plans you may have had when immediately performing these Events. You
may certainly read these Events and prepare for them.

IMPORTANT POINTS
Items

Q: Item Attatchment: Do you have to specifically attatch items to your individual creatures?

A (by Emperors): Not necessarily. The items can be in the stack of cards with squad, and the
creatures can use them when they need to. When a fight occurs they should be assigned at that
moment. Before and after fight they can really just be in stack. Obviously just make sure all
the creatures can carry/use them appropriately.

Q: Item States: Do items have an active/inactive state? Meaning, can you turn them on or off
whenever you want? The Bone Cart is a good example. I have a single creature in my squad
who has it so does he have to get stuck with the 1/2 move rate? He's not using the benefits of
the cart.

A (by Emperors): Sadly, if a guy has a "use item" icon he is considered using the item when
carrying it. The "carry" icon creatures could carry it without suffering effect because they are
not "using" it. But unfortunately the use item guys are using the items when they are carrying
them.

Q: How many times I cane use an item in my turn? For example Tooth of Speed - is a great
item but it seems too powerful if Squad ll uses its ability and moves full and then passes it to
Squad lV who benefits from it again.

A (by Emperors): We completely apologize for not having this in the rule book. But items
can only be used by one creature per turn. I can see how this was overlooked we assumed
people would know this, but the rule was never stated. So an item may only be used by one
creature per turn.
A question may arise, what happens if another player is attacking you more than once on his
turn can you switch weapons within a squad for each attack? I think this would be okay as it is
not your turn. But no item can be passed if it is not your turn.

Q: In another thread you (nate) told us an item is only usable in an enemys turn, if the squad
is engaged? why not allow the player to use them anytime, giving the game more thrill? does
this also effect special abilities of the Necromancers, so the ice dead sorceress can not stop an
enemy squad that moves in range and subdue it??

A (by Emperors): Really, I said that a defender can't us their items? Oh, you mean an item
with a "non combat" ability, like Magnetic Runestone? Combat related ones can be used on
another player's turn. These ability ones are tough. I may need Mat or Jochen's approval. But
if people think it's more rewarding I guess you could give it a shot. We were okay with
Necromancer abilities, being a very powerful one time thing. Necromancers deserved this
right to use their ability at any time, as though they'd been studying this one type of craft to
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

get a sudden magical edge on the other players. Items seem more like things that can be used
as a tool of sorts as the Squad is taking it's actions. That's a tough one.

Kill Points

Q: When a player uses any bomb, or ability (like the one of the Mind Chanter or many others)
that let a squad or creature fight among itselve, who will earn the Killpoints?

A (by Emperors): Good question! The player who used the bomb or ability would still earn
the kill points. Even though it is not pure combat, the player conducted a killing and still earns
the kill points.
If the attacking player kills his own guy using a bomb the defensive player does not earn the
kill points of the bomb carrier. It was the attackers strategy to sacrifice his squad to kill the
enemy.

Wandering Monsters

Q: Wandering Monsters: When do they wander. I read certain events let them wander but
never saw it....Symbol?

A (by Emperors): There is one wandering monster movement event per deck (including
excavation) we kept their movement at a minimum due to the strong tactical nature of the
game. Players should be cautious around them, but overall we didn't want strategic planning
to be destroyed all too often.
Obscene romance also is a movement related event.
Something like "masters call" from abyss deck is the common wandering movement.

ADVANCED RULES
Q: I'm positive this is covered in the rules, and again I'll look but we couldn't remember if
dropping items literally dropped it on a space, or if they're discarded (if you're trying to
replace items).

A (by Emperors): Yes. But we placed this rule in the advanced section. it's not really very
advanced gamer thinking, but some non gamer testers had a real problem understanding the
concepts we deemed "advanced". This was a little complicated for them. It's mentioned in the
"abandoning creatures" section. Last sentence, and the proceedure is exactly what you would
think. Place right where you drop them.

Q: I know in the rules it says you can't move through a friendly squad. But I know you can
merge into a squad if size allows. And I know you can split off from the squad to form a new
squad if movement allows. So the question is, can you move into a friendly squad and merge
then split off from that squad all in the same move? Thus almost moving through the squad.

A: Yeah, this is mentioned in the advanced section near the end of the book.
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

CARDS

1. NECROMANCERS
Black Wizard
Q: The rules say the Dark Wizzard, is only allowed to move after splitting, when it
happens in its own turn. I recommend to allow him to flee from combat in this way.
Splitting in the last round of the combat, facing the end and let one of the small wizzards
rund away 3spaces from combat; is this possible?

A (by Emperors): Well yes if we apply the AT ANY TIME RULE. This will piss off
some friends for sure, but these are "once" per game things, and they are supposed to help
you at the right moments. But if the Necromancer LOST 2 of the battles before splitting,
he would be dead.

Psychomancer of Fire
Q: One of the starting necromancers: The phychomancer of fire. I played him tonight for
the first time. Cool ability: Once during the game, you may destroy any creatures within
one space of you (except other necromancers). The question: Does this count against end
game bosses? (they're the awakening cards but I call them bosses). The boss we played
with tonight was the 66 stat evil dude. So can my guy walk up to him and use my ability
and kill him? We assume yes, but my opponent that could carry 4 items thought it was a
bit unfair and a bit broken. We ruled that it is a legal play, although on the next 2 turns he
ended up swarming my necromancer and flank killed him, so it didn't matter. Just curious
the ruling.

A (by Emperors): You can use this guy at anytime but no once per game ability can be
used on the same turn to win a game against an awakened event. The awakened evils
laugh at necromancer powers. Although, this guy can be used to destroy "the darkest
statue of death" (the statue not the awakened victory) meaning it cannot be used on the
same turn it takes a squad to deliver the jeweled eyes of the statue to their lair to complete
a victory.

Q: Psychomancer of Fire's special ability can be used to wipe out another necromancer?

A (by Emperors): It can be used on anything except to kill most awakened evils. So sadly
it can kill a necromancer. Each necromancer"s ability can be deadly if used perfectly.

Q: When the Fire Pyromancer uses it's ability to destroy anything in redius, is an adjacent
enemy squad instantly able to use a Bomb that it carries to also destroy the pyromancer?

A (by Emperors): The once per game ability can be performed at any time during a
players turn.
Even before actions are conducted.
We've always meant for these to be able to occur before anything happens (if desired). If
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

it is not a players turn, He may conduct the ability if he feels "threatened". Ha. That is a
rather vague word. A player could feel threatened 24 hexes away from another player. We
should be more precise than that. It's intended to mean if a player becomes engaged in
some way (by Combat, Spell, being buried in dirt) they may use their ability to thwart
damages and so forth.

Rotten Magi
Q: So here's the situation:
Evil Black Old Goat is revealed, the eye is one space away from awakening, Rotten Magi
is within five spaces of the pit and is last to go in the cycle. At the end of his turn he uses
special ability to teleport adjacent to the goat (the hex South West of the pit). Since it's
now a new cycle, the eye moves and the goat awakens. We roll for its heading, he's going
to move East, but before he actually starts to move, the Magi is adjacent. Does he enter
combat with the Magi immediately, and if so is it legal that Magi used his special power
to get in that position?

A (by Emperors): You can absolutely teleport before he awakes and kill him when he
does. You would have to wait for a turn in the deadly pit room, which could be fatal.

2. PROTECTORS
Old Mold Mouth
Q: I noticed that Old Mold Mouth's ability to eat 1 small unit before combat does NOT
say "except necromancers." If that's the case then when a necromancer squad gets within 2
spaces of him it's game over. Buwahahaha! That's just brutal.

A (by Emperors): Yes it's true. Mold Mouth could eat a necromancer. Watch out for that
guy.

3. AWAKENED EVIL
Q: Attacking "End Bosses" (like the EVIL BITCH). Do other players "choose" the ability
with which the bitch attacks, or can the player who is attacked deicide.

A (by Emperors): They can choose the ability. Some creatures, like protectors, attack and
have a specific attribute that must begin. If this is the case it will be on the card. If not
mentioned, player fighting gets to choose, the same applies with wandering monsters.
Player is considered the attacker, unless card states otherwise.

4. OTHER CARDS
Astral Worm
Q: The Astral Worm activates its ability "before attacking." Is the Dark Hunter who
"always attacks" immune to this ability?

A (by Emperors): The astral worm does its ability before the actual 'attack'.
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

Caveling(s)
Q: Cavelings: "squad cannot be broken by enemy ability." This seems to make their squad
immune to attacking itself, the Attacktite ability of splitting defenders and the Cutter
ability making one unit retreat. But what about abilities that drag one unit away from the
squad such as the Cave Serpent's ability?

A (by Emperors): Caveling is a uniter and can keep the squad together even in instances
like a cave serpent's power. A caveling is a great friend.

Q: So the caveling can realy not avoid attacking within its own squad?

A (by Emperors): It can avoid this attack. A caveling can avoid in-stack fighting and is
immune to creatures like insanity demon.

Dark Hunter(s)
Q: Combat: Always attacks. This just means they can't Hire or Subdue, right? Or does this
mean they are always considered attacker, even while defending?

A (by Emperors): It just means in combat it always chooses 1st attribute. Even if
defending. If another creature with the same ability attacked it can cancel dark hunters
ability. It can hire and subdue. Since subdue is a combat procedure it may use it's ability.

Demon Prince
Q: Immune to weapon (enemy weapon attribute is 0). Does the enemy get to roll a d12?

A (by Emperors): Enemy attribute is 0 but still rolls.

Gorenado
Q: Gorenado is an event that brings a creature from the pit, sweeping Gore to my
Necromancer and finally stealing my Gore. Cool effect, however the question: is he now a
wandering monster with all of the gore, or was that just a one time effect and now he's
gone. I'm assuming since it was an event, it's not a wandering monster, and he does not
stick around.

A (by Emperors): Correct. Gorenado is simply an event. After its done the gore-tornado
dissapears with the gore of any squad it passed through.

Greater Crud
Q: Ranged: Attack 3 space radius. There was some disagreement whether this was an
AREA attack on multiple squads or just a regular range 3 attack.

A (by Emperors): This was poorly stated, but it means a regular range attack but it
doesn't suffer from line of site issue (which should have been stated) thus the radius.
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

Hallway Horror
Q: The Hallway Horror has the ability to "Attack twice in one turn"
I'm not sure how to properly interpret this.
I can imagine two ways:
1. The Hallway Horror/its squad can move, attack any enemy or wandering monster, and
then, if it/the squad has enough movement left, move to attack someone else.
2. Instead of rolling one d12 per attack, two are rolled, summing the results gets your
attack value.
Maybe the true meaning is something outside those two...
We've decided to use option 1. because of the way that interpretation interacts with the
above-average speed...imagine this thing running down a hall, attacking multiple parties in
its path...

A (by Emperors): Your first assumption is correct. Hallway Horror can make one attack
and, if it can continue to move, could attack again.
The Hallway Horror doesn't not have to stop after the first combat, and gets two Combat
actions.

Maw of Transcendence
Q: I'm attacking a squad containing a single Maw of Transcendence. This creature has a
combat ability that says before combat begins it can eat any small or medium creature in
the opposing squad.
I'm attacking with a medium creature with a ranged ability 2 hexes away. My question is -
does the Maw get to eat my creature before combat begins? The rules say that the
defending squad defends with all attributes, items, and *abilities*, but does not kill if it
wins unless it uses only ranged creatures to defend. It says nothing about not being able to
use combat abilities against a ranged attacker, even though the defending creature doesn't
have a ranged capability.
Secondary question: does the Maw get to eat ALL small/medium creatures in the
opposing squad, or just one?

A: The Maw of Transcendence must be Adjacent to the opposing squad to use the ability
of automatically consuming any medium or small in the squad,
this ability may apply to more than one small or medium, without limit. Trinket-sized
creatures are immune to the vacuum of the Maw.

Mind Chanter
Q: Does the chanted creature fight against its own values? does this "mirror/reflection" of
the chanted creature count as a squad? would this prevent the Hateful Wraith from beeing
targeted, as it could not be attacked by only one squad?
Or is it more like punshing your own face and watch if it is your face or your fist, thats
harder?
Can the chanted creature survive anyhow? we played it the way, that owner of the Mind
Chanter is the "fist" and the owner of the victim is the "face" meaning, that the victim
survives when the face won the fight.

A (by Emperors): His ability is pretty straightforward but may seem or read strange. He
can chant at an enemy and that enemy just rolls a fight against itself. So if chanting at a
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

Dracor the Dracor rolls a fight against itself, as though the chanter is trying to get the
Dracor to commit suicide. If the Dracor loses the fight against itself, it dies. The fight is
using the Dracor's attributes so if it's strength attribute were 20 both sides would roll and
add 20. Really, since the attributes of both rollers are the same, it is essentially a "who can
roll better" type of roll off.
If a Mindchanter is caught in combat, it can only use its wimpy attributes. Physically the
Mindchanter is very weak and scrawny. It's chanting attribute is intended to only be used
on it's player's turn, so it is not intended to be used in defense.
Mindchanter cannot be used against Awakened Evils. His ability, while amazing, is weak
against purest evil entities.

Necro Assistant
Q: We had a discussion on it, if it will reduce the cost of lets say the start-necromonk to
zero, interested in hearing whether I was right.

A (by Emperors): He only makes a one resource discount, NOT on of each resource
discount. But some cards will still be free with this guy. A shoddy abomination would be
free, but not a Necromonk. A necromonk would still cost 2 resources.

Override Lord Control


The card says I lose one of my creatures to take control of 1 opponent creature from a
squad within 5 spaces of the casting squad. The lost monster becomes a wandering
monster.

Q: Does the captured monster join my squad, or does he get his own control card?

A (by Emperors): Yes. You will need an empty control card.

Q: If he gets his own squad card, does he stay where he was before I captured him, or
does he move adjacent to me?

A (by Emperors): If it is your turn you could take control and move him where ever you
like (adjacent or not). If it is not your turn, you could not. (you could use this spell on
another player's turn due to combat)

Q: If he stays where he was, what to do if he is one of several creatures in the opponent's


squad? If he immediately moves adjacent to his original squad, is he then locked down
and forced to combat his old squad?

A (by Emperors): Yes. He must combat his new enemies. He would exit the squad to
immediately have to fight the new enemies.

Q: The lost creature becomes wandering. Does this new wandering monster appear
adjacent to the casting squad? Does this lock down the casting squad (i.e. prevent it from
moving) and force me into combat with it on my next turn?
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

A (by Emperors): We should have made this card a black diamond card. It is referring to
the abandoning creatures rules on page 35. If a creature is abandoned it becomes a
wandering monster and moves full distance away from squad (if the squad has not
moved.) If the squad has moved the abandoned creature moves to complete it's movement
rate. (ex. If a creature with 3 movement moved 1 space with a squad. The abandoned
creature with 3 movement rate could complete 2 more spaces before becoming abandon.)
If this creature can't moves or can only move adjacent then combat, hire or subdue would
occur as well.

Permeator
Q: A Permeator's ability allows it to freeze one creature in the opposing squad when
attacking. If the opposing squad is composed of just one creature, does it automatically
die?

A (by Emperors): Permeator can freeze a one creature squad. A one creature squad
would be immediatle killed. Best to kill that guy with several creature squad as it can only
focus it's freezing ability on one.

Shadow Serpent Lord


Q: My interpretation is: Can ignore (once) any squad on the map for movement purposes.
Basically, he can go around an enemy without stopping if he wants. Is this correct?

A (by Emperors): Correct.

Shrapnel Bomb
Q: Can you use a bomb on your opponent's turn?

A (by Emperors): Yes if engaged. Not if he is walking within range. Only if engaged into
combat.

Tormentor
Q: The creature: Tormentor. Says you can invoke (wow!), summon, or construct. Well I
know what invoke does (cast a creature from your hand using resource cost), but what
does summon and construct do? Leads me to believe it has something to do with the 2nd
and 3rd decks. If it basically means the all the same thing, just different decks, that may
get a bit confusing, but would love to hear the answer.

A (by Emperors): Correct! Summon and construct are the second and third decks.
Tormentor can make cards from just those decks. The bribe deck is a mercanery type deck
and requires bribing minions from beyond, whereas the construct and summon decks are
creating things magically out of slop or fire, more wizardry. The tormentor is a wizard of
his own, just not as brilliant as the necromancer.

Ugly Ogre
Q: Ugly Ogre stacks with another ogre. Does the Ogre Lord count as an ogre?
CAVE EVIL FAQ v. 1.1

A (by Emperors): Legally this can occur and is very powerful.

You might also like