Swi Faq v30
Swi Faq v30
All changes and additions made to this document since the previous version are marked in blue.
1
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
hostile figure’s activation.
Interrupt to perform
an attack with a Pistol
targeting that figure.
This document contains frequently asked questions, rule
clarifications, and errata for Imperial Assault.
CHARACTER SHEETS Limit once per round
(twice if you have 2
activation tokens).
JYN ODAN
ERRATA The “Opportunist” ability should read:
Opportunist
After you resolve an
This section describes official changes to rule text and cards. attack, if the target
“After you resolve an attack, if the suffered 1 or more H,
target suffered 1 or more H, you may move 1 space.
CAMPAIGN GUIDE move 1 space.”
Original Card ©LFL
Text ©FFG
The first bullet of “Mission Briefing” should read: A Order: Choose another friendly figure
within 2 spaces. That figure may interrupt
to perform a move.
“Doors are locked. A Rebel figure can attack a door (Health: Cower: While defending, while adjacent
to a friendly figure, you may reroll
Twice the threat level, Defense: 1G).” 1 defense die.
UNDER SIEGE
©LFL ©FFG
TEMPTATION
The second bullet of “Hatred” should read:
+2 Accuracy B: Pierce 2 +3 Accuracy B: Pierce 2
“When Darth Vader has suffered H equal to twice the threat B: Stun B: Blast 1H B: Stun B: Blast 2H
level, he is defeated and the mission ends (V).” Overload: You can trigger the same B Overload: You can trigger the same B ability
ability up to twice per attack. up to twice per attack.
CAPTURED Priority Target: Figures do not block line of
sight for this figure’s attacks.
activating, he receives only 1 action and can only use that action Health Speed Defense Attack Health Speed Defense Attack
Original Cards
2
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
ROYAL GUARD LEARN TO PLAY GUIDE
The Royal Guard cards should include the following changes:
ENDING A MISSION
• On the regular Royal Guard, the ability “B: +2H” should
The second paragraph in “Ending a Mission” on page 7
read “B: Pierce 1.”
should read:
• Neither the regular nor the elite Royal Guard should include
“For the Tutorial, the Rebel players’ objective is to defeat all
the “Protector” ability. It should instead include the following:
Imperial figures. The Imperial player’s objective is to either have
“Sentinel: While a friendly non-Guardian figure is defending, his figures interact with both terminals or defeat a hero.”
and you are adjacent to the targeted space, apply +1G to the
defense results. Limit 1 “Sentinel” or “Protector” ability used
per attack.” RULES REFERENCE GUIDE
• On the regular Royal Guard, the “Vengeance” ability should read: ACTIVATION PHASE
“When an adjacent, friendly, non-Guardian figure is defeated, The “Activation Phase” entry on page 3 should include the
you become Focused.” following bullet:
• On the elite Royal Guard, the “Forward Vengeance” ability “During a skirmish, if a player has fewer ready Deployment cards
should read: than his opponent, that player may choose not to activate a group
“When an adjacent, friendly, non-Guardian figure is defeated, and pass play back to his opponent.”
you become Focused and may move 1 space.”
ADJACENT
8 4 Royal Guard 12 6 Royal Guard The first bullet of “Adjacent” on page 4 should read:
Guardian - Brawler Guardian - Brawler
“Two spaces that share only an edge that is a wall, blocking
terrain, or a door are not adjacent.”
ATTACKING OBJECTS
Reach B: Stun Reach +1F The second to last bullet of “Attacking Objects” on page 6
B: +2H B: Stun B: +2H should read:
Protector: While a friendly figure is defending, Protector: While a friendly figure is defending,
and you are adjacent to the targeted space, and you are adjacent to the targeted space, “When attacking a door, using an ability that affects a door, or
apply +1G to the defense results. Limit 1 apply +1G to the defense results. Limit 1
“Protector” ability used per attack. “Protector” ability used per attack. counting spaces to a door, the door is considered to be occupying
Vengeance: When an adjacent friendly figure
is defeated, you become Focused.
Forward Vengeance: When an adjacent friendly
figure is defeated, you become Focused
each empty space with which it shares an edge.”
and may move 1 space.
©LFL ©FFG ©LFL ©FFG The final bullet of “Attacking Objects” on page 6 should read:
Health Speed Defense Attack Health Speed Defense Attack
“The spaces that share an edge with a door are the only spaces that
8 5 10 5 are considered adjacent to that door. When declaring a P (melee)
attack targeting a door, the attacker must be in one of those
Original Cards
spaces. If the attacker has Reach, he must be in or adjacent to one
IMPERIAL CLASS CARDS of those spaces.”
TECHNOLOGICAL SUPERIORITY
MASSIVE
2 xp ©LFL ©FFG The “Massive” entry on page 16 should include the
following bullet:
Original Card Text
“If a Massive figure occupies a space containing blocking terrain,
line of sight can be traced to that figure, spaces can be counted to
that figure, and adjacent figures can attack that figure.”
3
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
MELEE ATTACK Q: Can a figure perform an action while occupying the same
space as another figure as long as it still has enough movement
The first bullet of “Melee Attack” on page 17 should read: points remaining to exit that space after performing the action?
“Melee attacks can target a hostile figure or object adjacent to or A: No. A figure must end its movement in order to perform
in the same space as the attacker.” any actions and a figure cannot end its movement in a space
REACH containing another figure (unless it is massive).
The first sentence of “Reach” on page 21 should read: Q: When an ability’s effect lasts “until” a certain timing
window (e.g. “Until the end of the round…”), does that effect
“A figure with this keyword may perform P (melee) attacks that persist through that timing window?
target figures or objects up to 2 spaces away.”
A: No. These abilities’ effects end immediately as the specified
TERRAIN timing window begins, before any other effects in that timing
window are triggered. So, in the given example, the effect that
The “Terrain” entry on page 24 should include the following
persists “until the end of the round” would expire before any other
bullet:
“end of round” effects are triggered.
“Spaces that are fully encompassed by a combination of a single
Q: Does an “Attachment” Skirmish Upgrade card change the
terrain border and walls are considered to be fully encompassed by
deployment cost of the Deployment card to which it is attached?
the terrain border.”
A: No. The attachment is simply scored simultaneously when the
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS group to which it is attached is defeated. Any effects that refer
to a group’s deployment cost do not take the cost of an attached
This section answers frequently asked questions about Skirmish Upgrade into account.
Imperial Assault. Q: In a campaign, can I deploy a Massive figure if there are
exterior spaces, but no deployment points in them?
GENERAL A: Yes. The Massive figure can be deployed to the exterior space
Q: Can Item cards from a Class deck or earned as a reward be closest to the chosen deployment point.
traded to other heroes? Q: When a Massive figure is deployed, does it push figures away
A: No. from the deployment point?
Q: Do Class, Reward, and Item cards that apply additional A: Yes. The Massive figure is considered to have ended its
health to a hero continue to apply that health if the hero movement when it is placed during a deployment. This means
is wounded? that unless another Massive figure is on the deployment point,
a deployed Massive figure will
A: Yes.
deploy directly to the point,
Q: Does “Move a number of spaces equal to your speed” follow pushing all other figures
the same rules as “Move X spaces?” aside.
A: Yes.
Q: When a large figure moves, does it exit all spaces it
occupied and then enter all of its new spaces, even if some of
those spaces overlap?
A: Yes.
Q: In a skirmish, if my opponent plays “Take Initiative,” can I
play my own copy of “Take Initiative” to counteract it?
A: No. Your timing window to play cards “at the start of the
round” would have passed (see “Conflicts in a Skirmish” in the
Rules Reference Guide).
Q: When a mission rule deploys a figure to a deployment point,
does that deployment point become active?
A: No. Other than green deployment points, which are always
active at the start of a mission, a deployment point only becomes
active if the mission rules state so directly.
4
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
Q: If a Massive figure ends its movement on a large figure, how
is the large figure pushed?
IMPERIAL ABILITIES
Q: Does “Oppression” apply +1F to the results if Diala has
A: The large figure is pushed to a valid position that requires the suffered 1C, then uses “Precise Strike” when she attacks?
least spaces of pushed movement. Note that while pushing a large
figure, it cannot move diagonally and cannot be rotated. If the A: No. Oppression’s effect is triggered “when a hero who has
figure cannot reach a valid position by being pushed, place it in a suffered 2 or more C declares an attack.” When the attack is
valid position that is the least number of spaces away. declared, Diala does not satisfy the condition and the ability is not
triggered.
Q: Can I attack a Mobile figure on blocking terrain with a P
(melee) attack with Reach from two spaces away? Q: Can I choose a Junk Droid as the Imperial figure for the
“Hidden Detonators” Imperial Class card?
A: Yes, if you have line of sight to the Mobile figure.
A: Yes.
Q: Does Luke have line of sight to the Probe Droid?
Q: Does a figure with “Experimental Arms” suffer the 1H after
attacking even if it did not choose to apply +1B?
A: No. The figure only suffers H after resolving an attack in
which it chose to apply the +1B.
COMMAND CARDS
Q: Can “To the Limit” be used after performing any action?
A: No. “To the Limit” can only be used after performing a special
action (an action with the A symbol).
Q: When a figure uses “To the Limit,” must that figure use
A: No, neither figure has line of sight to the other. Line of sight the additional action immediately? Does the figure become
is blocked by the space of blocking terrain that the Probe Droid Stunned immediately after performing that action?
does not occupy.
A: Yes, and yes. There is no window for performing additional
Q: When performing an attack with a hostile figure, can actions or spending movement points in between playing “To the
abilities from attachments be used? Limit” and resolving the action it grants you. Then, immediately
A: Yes. You gain control of all abilities that are available to the after performing that action, that figure becomes Stunned.
figure, though you must be able to pay the costs. For example, you Q: If an elite Imperial Officer uses “Executive Order” to cause a
can have the figure suffer strain to use an ability as that choice Stormtrooper to attack, can I play “Element of Surprise?”
is under the figure’s control. You cannot, however, spend the
A: Yes. You can play “Element of Surprise” even if it is not the
Imperial player’s D as that resource is under your opponent’s
attacker’s activation. In this case, “Element of Surprise” checks if
control, not the figure’s control.
the target figure had line of sight to the attacker at the start of the
current activation, not the attacker’s last activation.
HERO ABILITIES Q: Can I play “Element of Surprise” during an attack during
Q: When Gaarkhan suffers 3 or more damage and becomes the end of a round?
Wounded as a result, does he still become Focused?
A: No. “Element of Surprise” can only be played during an
A: No. Damage is suffered during the attack itself, and “Rage” activation. It cannot be played during start or end of round effects.
allows Gaarkhan to become Focused after the attack resolves.
Q: If an attacker plays “Element of Surprise,” then the target
Q: Does Mak have to use “Disengage” right away when a hostile is changed with “Bodyguard,” does the attacker still remove a
figure enters a space within 3 spaces? defense die?
A: Yes. The timing window for that ability is only when the hostile A: No. “Element of Surprise” removes the die from the original
figure enters the space in question. defender’s pool before the target is switched. The new target still
Q: When Jyn has “Smuggler’s Luck” and heroes are drawing has all of its defense dice in its pool.
Item cards from more than one Item deck, from which deck is Q: Can Darth Vader perform an additional action from “Lord
the extra card drawn? of the Sith” if he defeats a figure after playing the card?
A: After revealing cards from both available decks, Jyn’s player A: Yes. “Lord of the Sith” provides a passive effect for the duration
chooses one of those decks from which to draw the extra card. of the activation.
5
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
MISSION RULES
Q: What does it mean when a door becomes “unlocked?” Does
TWIN SHADOWS
The following sections include all errata and frequently asked
it open? questions for the Twin Shadows expansion.
A: No. When a locked door is unlocked by a mission effect, the
door remains closed but can be opened with an interact, following
normal rules for opening doors.
ERRATA
Q: When a Rebel player is playing as multiple heroes, does FIELD OFFICER/FIELD GENERAL
each hero still receive 1 XP when the rules say each player The first sentence of the special action of both cards should read:
receives 1 XP? “Choose another friendly figure within 2 spaces.”
A: Yes. Field Officer Field General
Q: In “Under Siege,” if the Imperials secure the 4th capture attachment attachment
point at the end of Round 8, which “End of Mission” condition Guardian, Leader, or
Trooper only
Guardian, Leader, or
Trooper only
triggers, the end of Round 8 or the Imperial player securing Exhaust this card. You
gain:
Exhaust this card. You
gain:
A: Since they happen at the same time, the Imperial player interrupt to perform a
move.
interrupt to perform a
move or attack.
decides (see “Conflicts in a Campaign” in the Rules INSPIRING LEADERSHIP INSPIRING LEADERSHIP
Q: Should all the rules text of mission events be read out loud Original Card Text
to Rebel players or only the flavor text?
A: Yes, all event rules text, including mission briefing, should be FAQ
read aloud to Rebel players when that event is triggered (with Q: When Kayn Somos uses “Squad Command,” does the target
the exception of reading out all options when the Imperial Player of the attack need to suffer H in order for Focus to be applied?
chooses from a list). A: No.
Q: If the trigger for a mission event requires that a figure Q: When a figure performs “Executive Order” and is granted
be on or adjacent to a certain space, can a figure meet that an attack as a result of “Lead By Example,” can that figure still
requirement while moving through another figure? use its other action to perform an attack?
A: Yes, the requirement of a figure being on or adjacent to a space A: Yes.
for the purposes of a mission event does not require that that
Q: Can the hero Saska Teft use the “Gadgeteer” skill card to add
figure end its movement on that space. The mission event would
a modification to a weapon that has no modification bars?
trigger immediately when the condition is met and then that
figure’s movement would continue. A: Yes.
Q: In “Captured,” can large Imperial figures end their Q: A figure with “Cunning” has the Weakened condition.
movement across a door? While defending, it rolls a F symbol. Does it get to apply its
+1G from “Cunning” before the -1F from the Weakened
A: No. When a rule states that a door does not block a large
condition is applied?
figure’s movement, that figure can move through the door, but
cannot end its movement across that door’s edge. A: No. Conditions are treated as mission rules for the purposes
of timing conflicts, so the -1F triggers before the defender has a
chance to use “Cunning.”
Q: Are Saska Teft’s device tokens discarded at the end of each
mission?
A: Yes.
Q: Can any part of Biv Bodhrik’s “Close and Personal” target
objects?
A: No. “Close and Personal” must target a figure.
Q: Can Biv Bodhrik use both “Close and Personal” and “Final
Stand” during the same activation?
A: Yes. Even though “Final Stand” includes performing “Close
and Personal,” it is a different special action and therefore both
can be used during the same activation.
6
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
Q: If an elite Imperial Officer has the “Field General” card
attached, can it use “Executive Order” twice during the same
FAQ
activation? Q: If my opponent plays “Take Initiative” and I cancel it
with “Negation,” does my opponent still need to exhaust a
A: Yes. Since he has two copies of the ability available, he is not deployment card?
using the same special action twice, so this would be legal.
A: No. “Negation” cancels all effects of the affected card, including
Q: If Saska is incapacitated, can other Rebel figures use her any costs included on that card. This also applies to any canceled
device tokens? cards that require the figure using the card to spend an action; if
No. Incapacitated and withdrawn figures’ abilities cannot be used, that card were to be canceled, the figure attempting to use that
even if they don’t affect that same figure. card would not forfeit the action.
Q: In the “Return to Echo Base” mission, a hero can fire the
RETURN TO HOTH ion cannon. When he does he is instructed to “test J and
I.” When this occurs does he resolve two tests, one for each
The following sections include all errata and frequently asked
questions for the Return to Hoth expansion. attribute, or one test in which he combines the two attribute
pools together?
Health Speed Defense Attack Health Speed Defense Attack 3 Ugnaught Tinkerer 5 Ugnaught Tinkerer
Smuggler Smuggler
8 5 8 5
Original Cards
MISSION: ESCAPE FROM CLOUD CITY
B: Bleed B: Pierce 1 B: Bleed B: Pierce 2
The third bullet of “Mission Briefing” should read:
A Spot Weld: Place the Junk Droid A Spot Weld: Place the Junk Droid
companion in an adjacent space. companion in an adjacent space.
“The mission will progress when the door to the Cell opens (V). Scrap Batallion: The Junk Droid readies at A Overclock: The Junk Droid may interrupt
The mission ends at the end of Round 6 or when all heroes are the start of your activation. It activates as
though it was part of your group and may
to perform a move or attack.
Scrap Batallion: The Junk Droid readies at
wounded.” use your surge abilities. the start of your activation. It activates as
though it was part of your group and may
use your surge abilities.
MISSION: RESCUE OPS © LFL © FFG © LFL © FFG
The third bullet of “End of Mission,” reading “The Imperial player Health Speed Defense Attack Health Speed Defense Attack
Original Cards
7
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
MISSION: HOSTILE TAKEOVER MISSION: MOMENT OF FATE
The fifth bullet of “Hostage Situation” should read: The twelfth bullet of “A Fateful Decision” should read:
“During his activation, a Rebel figure adjacent to Agent Blaise “The Imperial player no longer receives bonus D at the start of
may test K. If successful, that figure pushes Agent Blaise up each round.”
to 2 spaces. Otherwise, that figure pushes Agent Blaise up to
1 space. Limit once per activation.” FLASH BOMB
This card should read:
FAQ “2C: Use during your activation to choose a space within
This section answers frequently asked questions about 3 spaces. Each figure on or adjacent to the chosen space suffers
The Bespin Gambit. 1H and becomes Weakened. Then, discard this card.”
Q: Who draws the Supply card drawn from the R5 Astromech’s
Flash Bomb
“Forage” ability?
A: The hero that brought the R5 Astromech to the mission draws
all Supply cards from “Forage.” Consumable - Explosive
A: The Junk Droid can ready and activate with each Ugnaught © LFL © FFG
Tinkerer.
Original Card Text
Q: Is the Junk Droid considered in the group of the Ugnaught
Tinkerer by which it was placed? FAQ
A: No. Abilities that affect or are used by a group (such as an This section answers frequently asked questions about Jabba’s
Attachment) do not affect and cannot be used by the Junk Droid. Realm.
Q: Can a Junk Droid activate before the Ugnaught Tinkerer Q: Can Luke Skywalker (Jedi Knight) attack twice during his
with which it is activating? activation?
A: Yes. A: Yes. Heroic does not require Luke to spend an action to
perform that attack, so he is still free to use one of his two actions
Q: When can I use the Pierce reduction ability of “Zillo
to perform a separate attack in the same activation.
Technique” in a Skirmish?
Q: Can Luke Skywalker (Jedi Knight) use his “Heroic” ability to
A: Zillo Technique can be used to reduce the Pierce value at any
attack while in another figure’s space?
time before Step 7 of an attack, where it is applied to reduce the
number of blocks. Notably, this means that it can be used after A: No. To perform an attack, a figure must end it’s movement,
surges are spent. which Luke cannot do in a non-companion figure’s space.
Q: Do black corners like those on 05A (The Bespin Gambit) Q: When using “Elite Sniper” with an elite Alliance Ranger, do
block line of sight? I have to reroll both dice at the same time, or can I reroll the
second after seeing the result of the first?
A: No. These are no different from any other corners of walls.
A: If you choose to reroll two dice, both must be rerolled at the
8
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
Q: When are the dice rolled for the start of round effects on the
Nal Hutta Borderlands 4-Player map? HEART OF THE EMPIRE
A: At the start of the round, the player or team with initiative The following sections include all errata and frequently asked
chooses a space, then rolls 1 green die, noting the H result for questions for the Heart of the Empire expansion.
that space. That player or team does this once for each Turret, and
may choose the same space more than once. Once all players or ERRATA
teams have done this for each Turret they control, each figure in
the chosen spaces simultaneously suffers the cumulative damage DROKKATA Demolish
that was assigned to that space. Any VPs gained from these figures The “Demolish” ability should read: 2C: Choose a space
within 3 spaces. Each
being defeated are also gained simultaneously.
“2C: Use during your activation to figure and object on or
Q: In Skirmish, what happens when Greedo attacks Greedo? choose a space within 3 spaces. Each adjacent
Arms to that space
Distribution
suffers
1C: Use1H.at thePlace
startaor end
A: When Greedo (A) attacks Greedo (B), A’s Slow on the Draw figure and object on or adjacent to that rubble
of your token on the
activation. You gain
ability triggers, causing B to attack A. This causes B’s Slow on space suffers 1H. Place a rubble token chosen space.Then,
1 or 1. Limitanother
once
on the chosen space. Limit once per per activation.
friendly figure within 3
the Draw to trigger, resulting in A attacking B. In this case, only
activation.” spaces gains 1 or 1.
resolve each Slow on the Draw once. This results in 3 attacks in Dispersal
Original
Limit Card
once per Shot Text
activation.
this order: A attacks B, B attacks A, A attacks B. While attacking with a O
KO-TUN FERALO weapon, you may apply
Stockpile
Q: If a player has no VPs, but counts as having 2 from a mission -1H
Whenand +1B to
a friendly the
figure
The “Stockpile” ability should read: attack
effect like in “Gaining Favor”, can Jabba the Hutt spend those withinresults.
3 spaces interacts
points to use “Order Hit?” “When a friendly figure within 3 with a crate, that figure
spaces interacts with a crate, instead of may draw 5 Supply cards
© LFL © FFG
A: No. Players cannot spend VPs they currently have from “counts and choose 1 non-
drawing the first Supply card, it may valuable card to keep,
as” abilities. These abilities modify, but don’t directly add to, the
look at the top 5 cards and draw 1 non- shuffling the others back
player’s VPs. into the deck.
valuable card. Then, shuffle the deck.”
Q: Can I use Jabba the Hutt’s “Order Hit” ability to attack with Health Endurance Speed Defense
© LFL © FFG
9
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
ALLY AND VILLAIN PACKS FAQ
The following sections include all errata and frequently asked CHEWBACCA ALLY PACK
questions for the Ally and Villain Packs.
Q: In the Skirmish Mission “Prison Break,” does the player who
freed the prisoner continue to score VPs for doing so after the
ERRATA prisoner is defeated?
REBEL TROOPERS A: No.
In the mission “Brace for Impact,” the third bullet of “Mission REBEL TROOPERS ALLY PACK
Briefing” should read:
Q: If I play “Reinforcements”, does my opponent lose the VPs
“Neutral mission tokens represent reinforcements. When a Rebel scored from the defeated figure?
Trooper is defeated, discard one neutral mission token. At the
A: No. Reinforcements creates a new figure, which can be defeated
end of each round, Rebels deploy one Rebel Trooper to the Rebel
for additional VPs.
Barricade for each neutral mission token discarded that round.”
Q: If my opponent has no remaining activations this round,
REBEL SABOTEURS can I play “Provoke” to force the targeted group to activate first
See page 2 for errata to the regular and elite Rebel Saboteur next round?
Deployment cards. A: No. “Activate next if able” abilities only apply to the current
round.
HIRED GUNS
• The “Parting Shot” ability should read: “When you have R2-D2 AND C-3PO ALLY PACK
suffered H equal to your Health, before you are defeated, you Q: Can “Single Purpose” be used to perform a special action
may interrupt to perform an attack. Then, you are defeated.” twice if that action involves performing an attack?
A: No.
4 2 Hired Gun 6 3 Hired Gun
Smuggler Smuggler Q: If both players use “Terminal Network,” who controls the
terminals?
A: Whoever played “Terminal Network” last controls
all terminals.
B: +1H B: Pierce 1 +1F +1 Accuracy
B: +1 Accuracy B: +1H B: +1H
BANTHA RIDER VILLAIN PACK
Parting Shot: When you have suffered
H equal to your Health, before you are
Parting Shot: When you have suffered
H equal to your Health, before you are
Q: When I play “Jundland Terror,” do I need to gain the 2
defeated, you may interrupt to perform defeated, you may interrupt to perform movement points before resolving the attack or special action?
an attack. an attack.
Disposable: While defending, apply -1E to
your defense results.
Disposable: While defending, apply -1E to
your defense results.
A: No, the two effects can be resolved in either order.
©LFL ©FFG ©LFL ©FFG Q: Can the Bantha Rider (or any massive figure) end its
Health Speed Defense Attack Health Speed Defense Attack movement in spaces containing other figures multiple times
3 5 4 5 during the “End of Round” step?
A: No. It can only do this once during the “End of Round” step.
Original Cards
Q: When an effect places the Bantha Rider (or any massive
figure), is it considered to have “ended its movement?”
• “Of No Importance” should read: “Use after the last figure in
A: Yes.
one of your non-unique groups is defeated. That figure is
worth 2 fewer VPs, to a minimum of 0.” LEIA ORGANA ALLY PACK
Of No Importance
Q: In the Skirmish Mission “Fallout,” can a player attack any of
the 4 doors, or only the 2 doors to the Command Room?
A: All 4 doors can be attacked. Even though only the doors to the
Command Room are locked, the rule allowing a figure to attack a
Use after the last figure in
one of your non-unique
door applies to all doors on the map.
groups is defeated. That
group’s Deployment card
is worth 2 fewer VPs, to a Q: In the Skirmish Mission “Constant Motion,” do players take
minimum of 0.
turns moving Patrol Droids until all 3 have been moved or does
0 ©LFL ©FFG
each player move only 1 Patrol Droid?
10
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
AGENT BLAISE VILLAIN PACK SPECIAL SITUATIONS REGARDING ATTACKS
Q: In the Skirmish Mission “Reconnaissance,” can I place a • Some abilities allow players to perform an attack with a hostile
holocam on blocking terrain? figure. To resolve such an attack, the player resolving the
A: No. Blocking terrain blocks adjacency, so spaces of blocking ability controls the hostile figure for the duration of that attack.
terrain are not adjacent to a figure to place a holocam in it. -- The player resolving the ability chooses the target of the
attack. All non-neutral figures are considered hostile and no
MAUL VILLAIN PACK figures are considered friendly while performing this attack.
Q: Darth Vader defeats Greedo during Vader’s activation. Can The figure cannot target itself.
I play “Looking for a Fight” to step out of the way of Greedo’s -- During a campaign, while a Rebel player is attacking with
“Parting Shot?” an Imperial figure or the Imperial player is attacking with a
A: No. “Looking for a Fight” can be used “during your activation” Rebel figure, that figure is considered to be both Rebel and
but cannot interrupt other actions or abilities. Imperial by mission rules.
-- A figure that uses such an ability does not count as having
RULES UPDATES AND performed an attack.
CLARIFICATIONS BLAST
The following section includes rules introduced in various Blast is applied after the attack resolves. Blast does not affect the
Imperial Assault expansions as well as clarifications to entries in target of the attack.
the Rules Reference Guide.
BLOCKING TERRAIN
ABILITIES • If a figure or object without mobile occupies a space
• Abilities that can be used “during your activation” are not containing blocking terrain, apply the rules for mobile to that
interrupting abilities unless otherwise specified. figure or object.
• Abilities that have per-activation limits (for example: “limit
once per activation”) cannot be used outside of an activation. CLASS CARDS
Some heroes have a Class deck that includes Item cards with an
ATTACKS XP cost. These cards can be purchased with XP like any other
Class card and are used like other items of the same type. If a
• Some abilities allow a figure to perform an attack with a
player wishes to sell any of these items after purchasing them, he
different attack type and attack pool than their normal attack.
may do so for 50 credits like any other Item card without a listed
-- When a hero performs an attack using an attack pool credit cost.
unrelated to his weapons (such as the melee attack from
“Close and Personal” on Biv Bodhrik’s Hero Sheet), he
cannot use any abilities from his weapons during that attack. CLEAVE
• Cleave is applied after the attack resolves.
-- When a figure corresponding to a Deployment card
performs an attack using an alternate attack pool (such as • When a figure uses the Cleave keyword during a O attack,
the melee attack from “Close and Personal” on Biv Bodhrik’s the hostile figure chosen to suffer the H from Cleave must
Deployment card), they may still trigger their surge abilities, be within line of sight of the attacker and within a number of
unless the ability triggering the attack states otherwise. spaces of the attacker equal to or less than the Accuracy result
of the attack.
• A figure must end its movement to perform an attack.
• Any effects that trigger after an attack resolves use “during an
attack” resolution order. CONTROL
Some skirmish missions require players to control deployment
• “After performing” and “after resolving” an attack refer to the
zones, in addition to tiles or tokens.
same timing instance.
• A player controls a deployment zone if there is at least one
• During an attack action, all “after resolving an attack” abilities
friendly figure in any space of that deployment zone and no
must resolve before any “after resolving an action” abilities can
hostile figures in any space of that deployment zone.
be triggered.
• During an attack, if the attacker’s line of sight to the target
space changes or if the defender moves, the attacker must then
re-declare a target space. If none of the defender’s spaces are
eligible, the attack misses, there is no target space, and abilities
that refer to a target space have no effect.
11
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
COMPANIONS DEPLOYMENT CARD RESTRICTIONS
A companion is a new type of support figure that is put into play Some Deployment cards can be used in only one style of play in
through various game effects and is associated with a hero or a Imperial Assault. A Deployment card marked with a Campaign
group. The companion shares that hero or group’s affiliation and Deployment Icon can be used only in a campaign, while a
activates before or after the corresponding activation. Deployment card marked with a Skirmish Deployment Icon can be
When a companion is put into play, place its Companion card used only in a skirmish.
faceup in the ready position near its associated Deployment card
• R2-D2 • R2-D2
or Hero sheet. Then, place its token on the map as indicated by
the effect putting it into play. 3 LOYAL ASTROMECH 3 LOYAL ASTROMECH
Droid Droid
A companion follows all normal rules for figures with the Campaign Skirmish
following exceptions: Deployment Icon Deployment Icon
• A companion does not block line of sight, and a hostile figure DICE TYPES
does not spend one additional movement point to enter a Some abilities refer to a die’s type. A die’s type is either “attack” or
space containing a companion. “defense.”
• A companion can end its movement in a space containing
• +2
Blue,
Ac.,Red,
+1BGreen, and Yellow dice+1B
+22Ac.,
B: Pierce are attack dice.
B: Pierce 2
another figure, and another figure can end its movement in a
space containing a companion. • Black and White dice
B: Stun B: are defense
Weaken dice.
B: Stun B: Weaken
• A companion is adjacent to each figure and object in its space, A Service: You or an adjacent A Scomp Link: If you are adjacent to a
friendly
and each of those figures and objects are adjacent to the FIGURE COST
Droid or Vehicle recovers 1H. terminal, your player draws
1 Command card.
Computer Interface Arm: You can perform
companion. Each figure in Imperial Assault I hastests
a figure cost that may be
on objects on which heroes can A Service:I
perform You or an adjacent friendly
• A companion cannot interact. referenced
tests by abilities
(elite figures receive 1 and game effects.
Droid
success). A figure
or Vehicle cost
recovers is one of two
1H.
• A companion has a figure cost of 0 (see “Figure Cost” on the values:
Lucky: While defending, if you roll Lucky:
a blank
While defending, if you roll a blank
right). result,
• If aadd +1E to thegroup
deployment defensehas
results.
result, add +1Egroup
a starting to the size
defense
of 1,results.
that
©LFL ©FFG ©LFL ©FFG
• If a companion performs an attribute test, it automatically figure’s figure cost is equal to the group’s deployment cost.
Health Speed Defense Health Attack Speed Defense Attack
fails. • If a deployment group has a starting group size of 2 or more,
• When a group that is associated with a companion leaves play, 6 3 6 3
each figure in that group has a figure cost equal to the group’s
the companion remains in play but can no longer activate reinforcement cost.
unless a game effect allows that companion to activate as part
of a different group. HABITAT
• During a campaign, only one companion of each type can be Habitat is a keyword found on certain Deployment cards.
in play at a time. During a skirmish, each player may have one During a campaign, when the Imperial player is selecting open
companion of each type in play. groups for a mission, he can choose a Deployment card with the
• When a companion is put into play under a player’s control, if Habitat keyword only if there is at least one tile in that mission’s
that companion was already in play under that player’s control, map whose type matches the listed Habitat.
it is removed from the map first. Note: During a skirmish, Habitat has no effect.
• During a skirmish, abilities that specifically affect a companion
can affect only your companion.
MASSIVE
• A companion is not a member of its associated group. • After a Massive figure ends its movement in spaces containing
at least one other figure during an activation, Start of Round,
DEPLETE or End of Round, the Massive figure cannot move any more
When a card is depleted, abilities on that card no longer have any during that activation, Start of Round, or End of Round.
effect. For example, if MHD-19 uses the “deplete” ability on his
Reward card, “Systems Upgrade,” that card no longer provides the NEUTRAL DEPLOYMENT CARDS
“+2 Health” ability, and MHD-19’s Health value is immediately Deployment cards with a Neutral icon and
reduced by 2. card back do not belong to an affiliation. When
creating an army for a skirmish, a player may
DEPLOYMENT choose to include Neutral Deployment cards
• During a campaign, when a group is deployed, all figures in as if they belonged to his affiliation. Neutral
that group are deployed to the same point unless otherwise Deployment cards cannot be used in a campaign. Neutral icon
specified by the mission.
12
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
FAQ
REBEL UPGRADE STAGE TILE TYPES
When 1 or more expansions are incorporated into an Imperial Each map tile in Imperial Assault has one or more tile types
Assault campaign, Rebel players follow a different procedure corresponding to the environment that tile represents. These types
during Rebel Upgrade Stages. have no direct gameplay effect but may be referred to by other
Rebel players no longer draw six cards from each Item deck listed components.
in the campaign log. Instead, players should make note of the total The primary tile type distinction is between interior and exterior
number of cards in each Item deck at the start of the campaign. (see “Interior Spaces” on page 15 of the Rules Reference Guide
Then, during each Rebel Upgrade Stage, Rebel players draw a in the core game). Other tile types include forest and desert
number of cards from each of the appropriate Item decks equal to tiles. The tile types for the tiles found in the core game and those
half that number (rounded up) for the respective deck. introduced in Twin Shadows are as follows:
• Forest:
SKIRMISH ATTACHMENTS -- Core game tiles 01A-18A, 37A, 38B, and 39A
Some skirmish upgrade Deployment cards list the word -- Return to Hoth tiles 05A and 24A
“Attachment” above their abilities. These cards can be attached to
other Deployment cards as follows: -- The Bespin Gambit tile 011A
• When deploying units during skirmish setup, if a player has one -- Jabba’s Realm tiles 01A, 03A–06A, 08A–09A, 11A–12A,
or more “Attachment” cards included in his army, he places each 14A, and 16A
of these cards on one of his non-upgrade Deployment cards. • Desert:
• Each Deployment card can have only one “Attachment.” -- Core game tiles 01B-18B, 37A, 38A, and 39B
• Abilities on “Attachment” cards apply to all figures in the -- Twin Shadows tiles 04B-07B
corresponding group.
-- The Bespin Gambit tile 012A
• Many attachments require the group to have a specific trait,
-- Jabba’s Realm tiles 03B–04B, 06B, 08B, 14B, and 16B
such as “Trooper.” Attachments with these restrictions cannot
be played on a group that does not have the trait. • Snow:
When a group with an “Attachment” card is defeated, the -- Return to Hoth tiles 01A–24A and 21B
opposing player scores VPs equal to the deployment cost of the • Interior:
“Attachment” card in addition to the VPs he scores from the
defeated group’s Deployment card. -- Core game tiles 19A-36A and 19B-36B
-- Return to Hoth tiles 01B–20B and 22B–24B
STUN -- Twin Shadows tiles 01A-07A and 01B-03B
• A Stunned figure cannot declare an attack, but can resolve an -- The Bespin Gambit tiles 01A-10A and 01B-12B
attack that has already been declared if it becomes Stunned
-- Jabba’s Realm tiles 02A, 07A, 10A, 13A, 15A, 17A, 01B–02B,
during it.
05B, 07B, 09B–13B, 15B, and 17B
-- Heart of the Empire tiles 01A-18A
TERRAIN
• If a group of spaces is fully encompassed by a single terrain
border or a combination of a single terrain border and walls, WINNING A SKIRMISH MISSION
each of those spaces is considered to contain that terrain type A player earns victory points (VPs) during a game each time he
or she defeats an opponent’s figure or through card or mission
For example, each of the four spaces surrounded by blocking
effects. This is updated from the core set Rules Reference Guide.
terrain on tile 01B (core set) contains blocking terrain. These
spaces are not adjacent to one another. • When a figure is defeated, the opposing player scores VPs
equal to that figure’s figure cost (see “Figure Cost” in the
“Rules Updates” section).
• Players do not score VPs equal to the deployment cost of a
group when the last figure in that group is defeated.
• When the last figure in a group is defeated, if that group had
an attachment, the opposing player scores VPs equal to that
attachment’s cost.
“YOU”
If an effect corresponding to a figure instructs “you” to claim a
Core Set Tile 01B token, gain VPs, or manipulate cards, or refers to “your” army or
figures, “you” refers to that figure’s player.
13
IMPERIAL ASSAULT
© & TM Lucasfilm Ltd.
FAQ ©FFG