0% found this document useful (0 votes)
9 views7 pages

FAQ v.2.1: A: Yes

The document is a FAQ for a tabletop game, addressing various rules and mechanics related to gameplay, character abilities, and equipment interactions. It clarifies specific scenarios regarding ward saves, experience for henchmen, weapon usage, and special rules for different factions. Additionally, it provides insights into gameplay strategies and the balance of warbands within the game.

Uploaded by

Docteur Half
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
9 views7 pages

FAQ v.2.1: A: Yes

The document is a FAQ for a tabletop game, addressing various rules and mechanics related to gameplay, character abilities, and equipment interactions. It clarifies specific scenarios regarding ward saves, experience for henchmen, weapon usage, and special rules for different factions. Additionally, it provides insights into gameplay strategies and the balance of warbands within the game.

Uploaded by

Docteur Half
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 7

FAQ v.2.

1
Q: Several skills and abilities give a 4+ ward save vs. “the effects of harmful spells.” Does this
include hex / nerf spells, like spells that lower characteristics values, give minuses to hit and so
on?

A: Yes.

Q: If an attack “ignores armour saves” but the defender is eligible for a ward save from his Shield,
does the attack also ignore the ward save?

A: No.

Q: If a model is wounded by a weapon that causes Concussion, but a successful armour save is
made to negate the wound, does the attack still cause the Concussive effect?

A: No.

Q: The rules say that a natural 6 ‘to hit’ is always a hit. Is this even a model has so many minuses
to hit (for example, movement, long range and cover) that it would need 7 or more to hit?

A: Yes.

Q: Does a model that is currently fighting with a Great Weapon get free hacks if he's also carrying
a hand weapon?

A: No.

Q: Do armour saves stack? For example, is Heavy Armour and a shield one 4+ save, or one 5+ and
one 6+ save?

A: One 4+ save. A model can only have one armour save.

Q: If you have a two handed weapon or a missile weapon you cannot use the shield to against
ranged attacks at all. Is this correct?

A: Yes.

Q: If a unit is wounded by two effects that would cause it to lose 2 wounds instead of 1, do these
effects stack?

A: No. The warrior still only suffers 2 wounds.

Q: If a warrior has 1 wound left and is wounded by an effect that would cause him to lose 2
wounds instead of 1, do you get to roll two times ‘to wound’?

A: No. If the warrior has only 1 wound left, then the “2 wounds instead of 1” rule has no effect.

Q: When playing the Extraction Scenario, what do you do if the vanguard contains Witch Hunters
with ‘Hooded Hunter’ rule?
A: The affected model(s) cannot use the ‘Hooded Hunter’ rule in that scenario.

Q: What are the rules for hammers, maces, and staffs?

A: Hammers, Maces, and Staffs all use the rules for Clubs.
Great Hammers, Great Maces, and Great Staffs all use the rules for Great Clubs.

Q: How do Warriors of Chaos skills and Marks work?

 The four Chaos gods have special skill lists; these lists are called gifts.
 Of these, one skill on each list is called a mark.
 All warriors who have access to the gifts may choose any one of these skills as their advance
whenever they gain a new skill for their level up.
 In addition, some Warriors of Chaos have a special rule that allow them to buy one specific skill
(i.e. the Mark of their god) for 15gc, thus bypassing the XP and level up system for that specific
advance if the player desires.

HENCHMEN AND EXPIERENCE


Q: Do henchmen gain experience?
A: No.

Q: Then why is there a starting XP value listed for them?


A: Because henchmen might get promoted to heroes. The more advances a hero has, the slower he
levels. If a beefed up henchman were to become a hero and start with 0 XP, that henchman would
gain advances very quickly because at lower levels, you get an advance every 2 XP. So you might
have a henchman, who already has advances worth 20 XP leveling as if he was a completely green
hero. That was possible in vanilla Mordheim, and it could really get out of hand in long campaigns.
Therefore, starting XP on henchmen helps keeping them balanced if they are promoted to heroes.

Q: Why don't henchmen gain experience while they are henchmen?


A: Because it's adds a lot of bookkeeping, both between battles (where you have to keep track of
their advances), but actually also in battles (where the players have to exchange information on
advances all the time). Also, by keeping it this way, the contrast between heroes (unique individuals)
and henchmen (rank and file support) is kept crisp.

Q: Regarding Norse counter-charge: (1) When is the "within 8” measured in order to see if a
counter-charge is eligible; before the enemy moves his failed charger or after? (2) When is
distance the Norse warrior needs to roll in order to complete the charge measured; before the
enemy moves his failed charger or after?

A: Both after measured after the enemy has moved.

Q: Are the ‘Size Matters’ rules of Orcs & Goblins, Lizardmen, and Beastmen based on race or the
names of units?

A: Race.
ARTEFACT HUNT SCENARIO
Q: Can each zone of the Artefact Hunt scenario be searched multiple times or just once?

A: Just once.

Q: ARTEFACT HUNT SCENARIO: The zones left and right of red gives blue a +3 in the search check.
Can but can these blue +3 zones be searched by red? The text says red gets no benefit. Not that
they can’t be searched.

A: They can’t be searched.

Q: ARTEFACT HUNT SCENARIO: Can more zones be searched after the artifact was found to
generate more exploration dice?

A: Yes.

Q: In the Skirmish scenario, how many exploration dice would I roll if I (theoretically) controlled
the entire board at the end of the battle?

A: Say you controlled the whole board uncontested. That would yield [3 x 2] + [2 x 4] = 6 + 8 = 14
dice from the zones (and not counting other things).

Q: At what point during the battle do warriors nominate what weapons they are poisoning and
what drug they are using? Before deployment? After they are deployed? During your Power
phase? At any time?

A: When they are deployed.

Q: Missile weapons don’t have the ‘Two-handed’ rule. So can I use a Longbow in each hand? Or, if
they are two-handed, do Longbows cause 2 wounds on a ‘Deathblow’ critical hit?

A: Missile weapons do not have 'handedness,' but the shooting rules say that a warrior can only
shoot one missile weapon per shooting phase, no matter how many missile weapons he is carrying.
Pistols are the exception, because they have a rule excepting them from this restriction.

Since missile weapons don't have the 'Two-handed' rule, they normally don't cause two wounds on
Deathblow critical.

Q: Can a Dwarven Priest who is carrying multiple Oath Stones add +12”, +18” etc. to the range of
his prayers?

A: The rules for special equipment state that warriors can only carry a single instance of each type of
special equipment at a time. A priest can therefore never carry multiple Oath Stones.

Q: SKIRMISH SCENARIO: Does my own deployment zone as well as the zone left and right of My
deployment zone count as one of the three zones to get My opponent to make routing tests? Does
My deployment zone gives me +2 exploration dice at the end If uncontested?
A: You do not be claim Exploration dice from controlling your own deployment zone or the zones
next to it at the end of the game.

A player's deployment zone and the zones flanking it offer no benefit to that player at all, including
forcing rout tests.

Q: The Hatred Rule: Does it give +1 to hit in the first round or every round? The Core rules say
every round. But rules in skill lists and under warbands says only in first round.

A: If you have 'organic' Hate (like Witch Hunters) it's all rounds. Many skills give you Hate in the first
round only. So there's no contradiction.

Q: If a warrior hates a specific enemy for two different reasons (e.g. hatred in the first round of
combat and another rule which gives hared against the same enemy in the first round of combat),
do these effects stack for +2 to hit?

A: No. Hatred never stacks. You have it or you don’t and it’s always +1 to hit.

Q: When firing a Blunderbuss, the rules say I must target the closest enemy. How do I determine
who that is?

A: The nearest enemy is the nearest enemy to the model with the blunderbuss in inches.

Q: Am I right that additional Spells can only be acquired by the Spell Book? And then also only
once?

A: No. You can choose an additional spell/prayer each time the caster gets a skill for his level-up (see
the levelling up section). Spellbook is a piece of equipment that lasts for the entire campaign. As long
as the wizard is carrying it, he gets an extra spell. However, he can only carry one spellbook at a
time.

Q: When using Sling, can you wield a shield or hand weapon in the other Hand?

A: Warriors can carry any number of slings and hand weapons (see the Arming Warriors section).
Generally, you can almost always use any combination of weapons that you want. However, if you
are armed with a Sling, you can’t use the Shield against shooting attacks. Furthermore, since you’ll
never use a close combat weapon when not in close combat, or a sling when in close combat, this
question doesn’t really come up in the game.

Q: In Mordheim there was a rule where all models in a henchmen group needed to have the same
equipment. In the Wyrdwars rulebook there is nothing to say this is still the case, right?

A: There’s no such rule in Wyrdwars.

Q: Weeping Blades count as Swords, but also give +1 I. Do they give +1 or +2 Initiative?

A: Only +1 I. Their rules entry is separate from normal Swords.


Q: With warband special equipment, such High Elves’ 'Lion Cloak,' can this item only be taken by
White lions? Can anyone else purchase the cloak (and indeed the Ithilmar armour). Or is there a
skill you need to take in order to be able to purchase?

A: Only warriors with Lion Cloak on their list can ever use it (unless playing with the unofficial
‘Weapons Training: Armour’ skill). Ithilmar Armour can be used by any warrior that can use Heavy
Armour, but warband-specific items can only be bought by that warband (i.e. other warbands have
to get them through a ‘Robbed by Enemy Warband’ roll or similar).

Q: There is a skill called ‘Weapons Training: Close (Warrior can use any close combat weapons that
he comes across, not just those on his list. (Shields are Armour, i.e. this skill does not make him
proficient with Shields.))' Does this mean someone taking this skill can purchase any weapon on
the main equipment list in the rulebook, or do they have to find the weapon first? An example
would be the high elf sword masters, they can take a combat skill to start with, if I take said skill
does this allow them to purchase a halberd from the get go?

A: Any warband can buy any item in the main rulebook, even if they do not have any warriors that
can actually use this item. So the answer is yes. Sword Masters can use Halberds from the get-go if
they take that skill as their starting skill and the warband may always freely purchase Halberds.

Q: If a Wizard has access to multiple spell lores can he switch between them each battle, e.g. use
Lore of Fire in one battle and Lore of Metal in the next?

A: Yes.

Q: Can unarmed attacks be poisoned?

A: Yes, for example if the warrior has the ‘poisonous attacks’ rule. But if the warrior has a skill or rule
that says it must target a weapon, that ability cannot target Unarmed Attacks, since unarmed is not
a weapon.

Q: What happens if a warrior can poison one of his weapons through multiple different skills /
items?

A: These effects stack to poison more weapons he is carrying though additional poison on the same
weapon will have no effect. A weapon is either poisoned or not.

Q: Can magic weapons be poisoned?

A: Yes, unless the rules state otherwise. Remember though that flaming hits mean poison has no
effect.

Q: When charging an enemy out of Line-of-sight; do they need to be within your characters
Initiative, or the within the possible charge distance .e.g. the enemy is 7” away, needing a roll of 3
to reach them?

A: You can declare a charge of any distance. The Initiative distance in inches is only relevant if the
enemy is hidden.
Q: Can a character charge into combat by climbing? e.g Successfully passing a charge, then rolling
an initiative test to climb?

A: You can charge using any combination of jumps, climbs, charging around corners etc. (see the
Charges section), but the I tests stack.

Q: Some magic spells give a +6 ward save against all attacks, would this stack alongside a
shield/hand weapon combo, is it a separate save, or does it simply have no effect?

A: If the warrior is eligible to use the shield, they stack, but ward saves never stack beyond 4+.

Q: Does difficult terrain exist in Wyrdwars as it does in Mordheim (double movement)? For
instance, my character might choose to climb through a window or across a river as the cost of
double the movement?

A: No. You can't move across water and windows. But you can house rule this if you want.

Q: Can ward saves ever be destroyed/splintered like armour, or can they be used repeatedly
throughout the battle. (I understand there are some spell/attacks which state that they ignore
ward saves)?

A: Ward saves and regeneration saves never splinter, but as you say they are sometimes ignored.

Q: I assume a henchmen may roll for lads for talent multiple times in the post-game sequence, if
he has successfully taken several enemy heros out-of-action?

A: Yes.

Q: If playing with the unofficial rules from ‘More Stuff,’ warriors can learn to use armour not on
their starting list. So will the Dwarf Slayer Hired Sword have the ‘Stout’ ability, allowing him to
ignore Initiative penalties from Heavy Armour?

A: Yes, since Stout is a Dwarven racial skill. Since the unofficial stuff is add-on rules, we avoid
cluttering up the main rules with references to this potential combination. But the answer is yes.

Q: What happens if I move/run within 1” of an enemy? Will I be in close combat without having
charged?

A: No. You cannot declare a move that ends within 1” of an enemy without charging. You can
attempt to move within 1” of an enemy as long as you end your move at least 1” from all enemies,
(but you will probably be intercepted).

Q: Some Hired Swords have Heirlooms (e.g. Spiked Gauntlet and Full Plate Armour) that cannot be
bought by all warbands. If these items are lost (e.g. from being robbed) can the Hired Swords buy
new ones?

A: No. If the employing warband cannot buy these items (e.g. Reiklanders for Full Plate and Pit
Fighters for Spiked Gauntlet), the only way to replace these items is if you happen to rob new ones
yourself.
Q: Warriors are considered in close combat if within 1” of each other. If I charge an enemy 8”
away, but my maximum total charge distance is 7”, will I still be considered engaged in close
combat with that enemy then?

A: No, that will count as a failed charge.

Q: What is the best warband?

A: WyrdWars is constantly updated based on player feedback. The aim is for there to be no best or
worst warband. However, while there is no ‘best’ warband, the most forgiving warband to play is
probably Mercenaries.

Q: (See Diagram) If A charges B and C is also within 1” of A, will A count as having charged both
enemies and be considered in Close Combat with both of them?

A: Yes.

Q: What is the best warband?

A: WyrdWars is constantly updated based on player feedback. The aim is for there to be no best or
worst warband. However, while there is no ‘best’ warband, the most forgiving warband to play is
probably Mercenaries.

Q: When a model has both an armor save and a ward save, is the model allowed to use both to
attempt to save a wound. Or must the player choose which one to use?

A: Yes. You can always take both armour and ward or regeneration saves. But if a warrior has both a
ward and regeneration save, he must choose which one to use (see main rulebook). Also note that
ward and regeneration saves stack, but cannot be increased beyond 4+ (again see main rulebook).

Q: Can armour saves be increased to any level?

A: Armour saves cannot be increased beyond 1+ and a natural 1 always fails to save.

You might also like