0% found this document useful (0 votes)
12 views42 pages

Tasting Notes

This document is a collection of rules clarifications from Team Death regarding gameplay mechanics and interactions in the Lantern's Reign Discord. It addresses various questions related to game rules, including the consumption of resources, survivor abilities, and the implications of specific game events. The clarifications are provided in a Q&A format, highlighting typographical errors and intended interactions between game elements.

Uploaded by

vallh
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
12 views42 pages

Tasting Notes

This document is a collection of rules clarifications from Team Death regarding gameplay mechanics and interactions in the Lantern's Reign Discord. It addresses various questions related to game rules, including the consumption of resources, survivor abilities, and the implications of specific game events. The clarifications are provided in a Q&A format, highlighting typographical errors and intended interactions between game elements.

Uploaded by

vallh
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 42

cptfriendshipWed Dec 07 2022 00:28:35

A compilation of rules clarifications from the tasting notes

cptfriendshipWed Dec 07 2022 00:30:30

Please do not post in this thread without authorization. Ask any questions in
<#272098152419426305> or <#370287894373466112>

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:36:29)


bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:32:46)
Q: The Black Lichen strange resource does not say to archive the card when it is
This thread is a collection of all the rules clarifications made by Team Death. These are consumed. Was it intended to be eaten repeatedly? This is a very easy method to
done by Dark Tastemaker on the Lantern's Reign Discord. Dark Tastemaker is a member gain courage and understanding. A: This is a typographical error. Black Lichen should
of the team at Kingdom Death, and runs these rules questions by other members of the archive itself upon consumption.
team before answering. What is included is the way the Q&A appear on the FAQ itself,
and then the way it was originally asked and answered. This is done because questions
can be answered differently, and in some cases, broken up into two answers. If there is
no image included for the question, that question is not on the FAQ. If an entry starts
with an ❌ reaction, then it has differences between the two in some way. Taste has
explained why the FAQ might have discrepancies. This reasoning is pinned here. 📌

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:37:12)

Q: Hyperactive disorder says that a survivor must move 1 space every round.
Does this mean that if they are knocked down another survivor MUST encourage
them so they can move?

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:34:19) A: A Hyperactive survivor must move at least one space every round if it is possible for
them to move by their own volition. If a survivor is knocked down for the duration of a
Q: Regarding how patterns in white boxes work. A: As for your follow-up, Insight
round and does not have a personal effect that allows them to stand, they do not need to
Patterns mechanically care about "Your campaign's 3 Understanding Milestone", not
move. However, if the survivor is able to stand on their own volition by using fist & tooth
Insight itself. An update to the Pattern System Beta rules will be made to clarify this
specialization, Brain Mint, or another similar effect that they have personal access to,
stance. Seed Patterns can currently be considered equivalent to Insight Patterns, and
they must use the effect and then move at least one space.
follow the same rule.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:35:38)


bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:37:49) Q: The Red Savior ability “Caratosis X” says before making an attack roll declare
X. When you do, that attack gains X automatic hits. Can this be used with Arrows,
Q: Scrap Rebar has an arrow that points right into the green affinity of the
or should this be limited to weapons? Possibly be limited to gear speed? The
Zanbato, this prevents the Zanbato from completing its affinity. This is the best
ability to use this with arrows, like the Hollow Point arrow, allows for the monster
candidate for Scrap Rebar, but the arrow placement makes the combo less
to be reduced to 0 movement for the showdown.
desirable. Was this intended?
A: Caratosis X can be used with any attack roll, including one made from activating
A: Yes. (We did not want to give the premier early/mid-game devastating weapon a way
arrows or other ammo. Caratosis X adds additional automatic hits to an attack equal to
to easily mitigate the drawbacks of Frail. The Scrap Rebar was originally intended to
the value declared, on top of any hits naturally rolled for that attack. However, automatic
protect heavier investment Frail weapons such as the Dragon Slayer and future releases
hits may never exceed the speed of your attack. As such, the maximum amount of
rather than be an efficiently costed protective measure for all Frail weapons.)
additional automatic hits an attack with a Hollowpoint Arrow may gain at baseline is 1.
The combination of Caratosis X and Hollow Point Arrow as they currently exist allows for
the monster to gain multiple -1 movement tokens from a single activation, and will be
monitored by the playtest team to determine whether a future adjustment is necessary.
Monsters with 0 movement due to negative modifiers, like survivors, can always move
one space with each move action.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:38:27)

Q: A survivor with a Binge Eating disorder must always be nominated to consume


whenever a story event offers the choice. Does this mean that a settlement is
prevented from Cooking, as that survivor will always eat the dish? Only one dish
can be made per year. This survivor hinders the entire story event.

A: The settlement is not prevented from Cooking. However, a Binge-Eating survivor will
always be nominated to consume if they are able to. As such, should a settlement cook
a recipe from the Cooking Story Event while there is a survivor with Binge-Eating in the
bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:40:08)
settlement, they will always eat the dish. If there are multiple Binge-Eaters, any dish
created during Cooking must be eaten by one of the Binge-Eaters. Q: What is the intended interaction between the Speaker Cult Knife and abilities
like Acid Palm and Monster Claw Style? Do such abilities buff the Speaker Cult
Knife because it is a "Fist & Tooth weapon", or are they only mean to apply
specifically to the "Fist & Tooth" weapon survivors naturally have?

A: Abilities like Acid Palm and Monster Claw Style apply to all weapons with the Fist &
Tooth weapon type, including the Speaker Cult Knife.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:39:25)


bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:40:45) A: The "you" referred to in this roll result is the survivor nominated to spend the
endeavor to Find Fluid. Only that survivor may depart with heavy gear without setting
Q: The Lonely Tree expansion tells you to remove the Basic Hunt event from the
their survival to 0 after applying all bonuses. Someone asked if the "you" in the phrase
game after resolving the event, but the terrain card remains in the deck, so you
"Your settlement finds enough fluid to deal with the heat. You may endeavor normally."
can still randomly draw it. This allows you to fight the Lonely Tree multiple times.
refers to the survivor nominated to endeavor as with the lower roll result on the same
Is this intended?
table. The previous week's ruling that "you" refers to the survivor nominated to endeavor
A: Yes. continues to apply, but players may make a narrative decision to allow the settlement at
large to endeavor normally, considering the phrasing of the result.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:41:24)

Q: Can a survivor be encouraged at any time, even if not knocked down, or may bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:45:27)
only a knocked down survivor be encouraged?
❌ Q: Should survivors find themselves in a brand new settlement with a Final
A: Survivors can only encourage knocked down survivors unless an effect explicitly Lantern, can they eventually gain another one? Do the effects of multiple Final
allows them to encourage in other contexts. Lanterns stack? Does the Lantern Research from their previous settlement carry
over?

A: Yes, survivors may have multiple Final Lanterns. The effects of multiple Final
Lanterns do not stack, as you cannot have multiple instances of the same survivor
status. Lantern Research level is tied to your current settlement. A settlement with a
Final Lantern begins at Lantern Research Level 1. Without access to Lantern Research -
Pulse Discoveries, a settlement cannot increase their Lantern Research above 1.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:41:55) Regardless of how many Final Lanterns you have in total among your survivors' gear
grids, all survivors only gain one instance of the Horripilation survivor status card. Yes,
Q: Is the Watcher intended to not give Weapon Proficiency or Hunt XP? as the Final Lantern always has the Vital keyword. If the settlement has multiple Vital
gear, the survivors must depart with all Vital gear in their settlement.
A: Yes.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:43:57)

❌ Q: The settlement event Heat Wave has a Lingering Effect that allows you to
spend 1 endeavor to Find Fluid. The 6-7 result of this effect reads "you may depart bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:46:19)
with heavy gear normally." Who is this "you" referring to?
Q: How does Clarity of Darkness/Path of Gloom interact with effects like Husk of
Destiny or Stark Raving that make you "always insane"?

A: When direct contradictions arise between specific rules, as is with the case of Path of
Gloom and Stark Raving/Husk of Destiny, rule against the survivors' favor. A survivor
who is "always insane" and "not insane unless they have 5+ insanity" is not insane
unless they have 5+ insanity.
bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:49:08)

❌ Q: Under what circumstances do the special rules of a weapon apply outside


of when it is activated?

A: The special rules of a weapon are always only applicable when the weapon is
activated unless 1) the rule specifies an effect that can only occur within a timing outside
of the showdown, or 2) the rule is explicitly stated to be applicable during a timing
bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:47:43) outside of activations. Examples of the following are: 1) Round Leather Shield (Adding
armor points to hit locations occurs during Prepare Departing Survivors in the Settlement
Q: Under what circumstances do you gain the benefits of your settlement's Death Phase), Vespertine Foil (Spending a resource or archiving the weapon occurs during the
Principle? beginning of the Settlement Phase), Digging Claw (Rerolling on the Mineral Gathering
Story Event occurs during the Hunt Phase) 2) Amber Poleaxe (the effect of the monster
A: Do not gain the benefits of your settlement's Death Principle from survivors that are
suffering a wound is tied to the timing of "the monster colliding with you"), Fetorsaurus
exiled, leave the settlement, or cease to exist. In cases where a survivor is stated to
(the effect of reducing [STAR] is tied to the timing of "while you are carrying
have both "died" and "been exiled/left the settlement/ceased to exist" (e.g.- King's
Fetorsaurus"), Scoopy Club (the effect of filling the club and gaining the ability to Daze
Curse), do not gain the benefits of your settlement's Death Principle. Gain the benefits of
monsters when wounding with Scoopy Club is tied to the timing of "when you vomit, are
your settlement's Death Principle from all other survivors that die, including from
vomited on, or are adjacent to vomit")
population loss, unless explicitly stated otherwise.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:49:47)


bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:48:23)
Q: Does using the Legs Locked Pulse discovery count as your once per round
Q: What constitutes a "cold" hunt event as per Grim Muffler? usage of the Death Die?

A: Whether a Hunt Event can be designated as "cold" should be determined by narrative A: Yes.
consensus within your play group, similarly to determining a group's "favorite survivor"
for Hunt Reenactment, or whether or not the story of a Weird Dream is "well told".
Players are recommended to suggest that a hunt event is "cold" only when they have
sufficient narrative cause to do so, and should refrain from suggesting any hunt event
that causes survival loss (e.g.- Basic Hunt Event 20: Dry Lands) is a "cold" hunt event.
bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:50:18)

Q: Can you use Metabolic Surrender when you do not have the Death Die?

A: No. You can use Metabolic Surrender at any time during the showdown while you are
in possession of the Death Die.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:52:20)

❌ Q: Are the Vault Key Earrings intended to work with a survivor with the Fear of
the Dark disorder?

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:50:57) A: Yes. Retired survivors cannot depart for the hunt or showdown, but retirement does

Q: The Ashen Claw Strain adds both the Armored Fist fighting art and the Fiddler not preclude survivors from being assigned a gear grid. If a retired survivor is assigned a

Crab Spider vermin to your game. When starting a new campaign, is the Fiddler gear grid that does not allow them to depart, you must either assign them different gear,

Crab Spider permanently included as a vermin resource, or is it only added if or select another survivor to depart with instead.

Armored Fist is also present in that campaign?

A: Fiddler Crab Spider should only be added to your campaign if Armored Fist is also
present.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:52:58)

Q: The 6+ result of the Heart Flute innovation instructs you to add a special
showdown with the selected nemesis at the highest level you have not yet faced
to the timeline this year. Is this correct?

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:51:38) A: This is a typographical error. The 6+ result of Heart Flute should read: "You play a trill
note. Select any Nemesis monster. Add a Special Showdown with them (at the next
Q: The ability "Reflection" states that you may "dodge at any time, and as many
highest level you have not yet faced) to the timeline this year. You cannot endeavor here
times as you like each round". Does this allow you to dodge while you are
again this phase.
attacking or doomed?

A: Yes. Reflective allows you to perform dodge during timings when you are normally
prohibited. Note that Reflective does not allow you to avoid damage that dodge does not
normally prevent, such as damage outside of attack actions. In addition, being able to
dodge while doomed does not allow you to perform any other action aside from dodging
while you are doomed (e.g.- you cannot activate the Rawhide Armor Set Bonus effect
while dodging when you are doomed).

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:53:48)


Q: The fighting art Blotted Out states "When you suffer a brain trauma, gain a Q: When a science endeavor is prevented, does that only prevent endeavoring
bleeding token," What does this mean? from those specific cards (e.g.- Albedo), or does it prevent endeavoring of any
kind that requires a science innovation (e.g.- Leathermaking at the Leather
A: Whenever a survivor with Blotted Out suffers a brain trauma, they gain a bleeding
Worker)?
token as well. The Team had a good chuckle at the Blotted Out clarification. The intent of
the Slenderman expansion was always to go against the grain of the general trend that A: When a specific type of endeavor is prevented, survivors may not perform any kind of
"Fighting Arts are good and Disorders are bad", but we understand how strong the endeavor that requires an innovation of that specific type.
heuristic can be. A Team member once made the same mistake in the past!

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:54:25) bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:56:22)

Q: Can a survivor Tumble while knocked down? Q: The Ambidextrous fighting art cannot be used if there are shields, two-handed,
or heavy gear in your gear grid. Is this a rule of Ambidextrous, or are these
A: Yes. If a survivor successfully tumbles out of harms way while knocked down, they
restrictions an inherent aspect of the Paired keyword?
are placed standing on the closest free space outside of the collision path.
A: The restrictions on Ambidextrous pertain only to the fighting art.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:54:53)

Q: Does Frenzy prevent all fighting arts from working? bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:56:54)

A: Yes. For example, a frenzied survivor with Tough would not add +1 to their result Q: Do resource effects that occur within settlement storage (e.g.- Gibbering
when rolling on a severe injury table, nor would a frenzied survivor with Rhythm Chaser Haremite, Lump of Atnas) trigger multiple times if there are multiple of those
remove all of their +1 evasion tokens when knocked down if they do not have an resources within the settlement storage?
instrument in their gear grid.
A: Yes. Lump of Atnas has a typographical error. The text on Lump of Atnas should read
as: "At the start of the settlement phase, if there are 5+ Lumps of Atnas in settlement
storage, their scent draws a survivor, sniffing through the darkness. Gain +1 population
with a random disorder. Gain this benefit once per settlement phase, regardless of how
many Lumps are in storage."

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:55:47)


bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:57:23)
bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:58:53)
Q: What happens when a settlement consists of only 4 departing survivors and
Q: Is it intended for the Baby and the Sword hunt event to only remove itself from
the Gibbering Haremite causes the settlement to suffer -1 population?
the Hunt Event Deck on a roll result of 7+?
A: The settlement suffers -1 population, causing the settlement to consist of only 3
A: Yes.
departing survivors.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:59:20)


bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:57:47)
Q: What specific resource do you gain from the 2+ roll result of the Dead Warrior
Q: Can survivors archive Vital gear as normal?
Hunt Event?
A: Yes.
A: You gain a Monster Bone basic resource.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:58:21)


bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 00:59:51)
Q: Final Lantern has the "other" keyword. What happens when a Savior or
Q: Should Aichmophobia be extended to other weapon types aside from the
survivor with the Superstitious disorder acquires it outside of the Settlement
currently listed ones?
Phase?
A: No.
A: Saviors may not wear any gear with the "other" keyword due to Life Exchange. The
Final Lantern is not a piece of armor or an accessory and is therefore not worn.
Superstitious survivors cannot depart or activate "other" gear in their gear grid. This
does not preclude them from acquiring the Final Lantern after departure, and the rules
associated with the Final Lantern do not involve activation. Both Superstitious survivors
and Saviors can acquire the Final Lantern as normal outside of the Settlement Phase.
bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:01:27)

❌ Q: How do the timings of "After Hit" and "dodge" interact? bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:04:09)

A: After Hits effects occur after determining hits from a monster's attack roll, before
❌ Q: Under what circumstances can a survivor use lifetime rerolls/reroll tokens?
Can a roll result that has already been rerolled be rerolled again?
rolling hit location dice. Dodging occurs after rolling hit location dice, before damage. As
After Hit effects trigger before survivors have the opportunity to dodge, survivors cannot A: Survivors with a lifetime reroll/reroll token can spend it to reroll any single roll result
use dodge to circumvent After Hit effects. This question had additional clarifications: that they are present for. This includes any dice that survivor rolls (e.g.- a d10 roll for the
1. Can you only dodge a hit if you roll hit location dice? Can you dodge any hit? survivor, a d10 roll for the monster while the survivor has the monster controller tile, a hit
Can you dodge the hit affected by Telcric Eye Tac? Dodge's timing occurs after location roll, etc.), and any dice that survivor is deemed "present" for according to
rolling hit location dice, before damage, and allows you to treat a hit as a failed attack narrative consensus. Players are recommended to suggest that a survivor is "present"
roll. Effects that replace "rolling hit location dice" with another effect (such as Headhunter only when they have sufficient narrative cause to do so. After a roll result has been
or Telcric Eye Tac) do not remove the timing of "after rolling hit location dice" from the rerolled, the new result must be kept and cannot be rerolled again. For those that are
damage process. Dodge treats a hit, not a rolled hit location die, as a failed attack roll. curious as to what the narrative consensus of Team Death is when it comes to
Dodge can occur against Head Hunter or Telcric Eye Tac hits. 2. Rules for abilities rerolls, our stance is generally: 1) All survivors are "present" during the Settlement
like Head Hunter state the you do not roll hit locations when that is triggered. This Phase unless there is a narrative reason that is precluding them from participating with
ability can be found in both After Hit and Before Damage attack triggers. After Hit the rest of the settlement (e.g.- a survivor currently being Secretive will likely not be too
triggers resolve before rolling hit locations dice, however, Before Damage triggers interested in interacting with the rest of the settlement). 2) Survivors are only "present"
are resolved after hits and hit location dice are rolled. How does this work? Head for a Hunt Event if they are actively participating in it somehow (e.g.- when they are
Hunter should always be an "After Hit" trigger. Those that are listed as Before Damage explicitly instructed to roll, when a survivor with a whip in their gear grid uses it to assist
are typographical errors. 3. Some AI cards have attack profiles that have “-“ listed another survivor). 3) During the chaos and confusion of the Showdown Phase, survivors
as their damage. Should you still roll hit location dice for these attacks? Can these are only truly aware of their own actions and cannot be "present" for others, unless there
types of attacks be dodged? That has a trigger that essentially encompasses the is very good narrative justification (e.g.- A survivor may be able to expend their lifetime
lethality of the attack, as compared to normal damage. 4. Is there a mechanical reroll to help another survivor reroll their Purpose roll, as Purpose is a Fighting Art all
difference between ignoring and canceling a hit? There is a mechanical difference about the bonds of camaraderie).
between ignoring a hit and cancelling a hit.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:02:11)


bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:05:25)
Q: How does Graze function if there are no Acanthus Plants on the showdown
board? Q: White Lion hit locations use the phrasing "any survivors passed over suffer
"Grab". Is there any mechanical difference between being passed over and
A: The Screaming Antelope will full move forward in a straight line.
colliding? Does the White Lion Grabbing survivors circumvent/prevent other
effects that occur during collision from happening (e.g.- knocked down from
collision, knockback 5 from the monster ending its movement on the survivor,
Amber Poleaxe's special rule, Tumble, etc.)?
A: No. No.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:07:41)

Q: Based on the Tasting Notes from the last week, the weapon proficiency

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:06:00) eligibility check is made after the option to switch in some nemesis fights, and
after the survivors gain Hunt XP. During the Aftermath, when a survivor reaches
Q: When do you choose a quarry to hunt? How do limitations like Flower Age 1 from the gained Hunt XP, do they immediately select a weapon proficiency
Addiction, Megalophobia, and Dead Guardian affect your quarry choice? while resolving the Age 1 Milestone? If so, would this then fulfill the eligibility
check? (Assuming they choose something they wounded with during the
A: Players choose a quarry to hunt at the beginning of the Hunt Phase, immediately after
showdown.)
Table Setup, before departing on the hunt. Survivors may choose a quarry from the list
of available monsters on the Quarry List of their settlement, and choose a monster level A: Taste got this one before it was officially asked. Discussion came up while talking
based on the levels available to their settlement. Effects like Flower Addiction, about it.
Megalophobia, and Dead Guardian restrict the quarry you are able to choose during this
step. If these restrictions prevent the survivors from choosing all options that are
available to them, the hunt ends in failure.

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:09:13)

Q: How can two survivors spend [ACT] simultaneously in order to perform a


"Principle: Bonding- Devoted Union" combined attack? If a combined attack
bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:06:39) draws the trap, is the full attack cancelled?

❌ Q: When a survivor has the ability to gain monster level weapon experience A: Both survivors must have an activation to spend at the time of declaring a combined
after a nemesis fight (such as axe proficiency for the Butcher), do they need to be attack in order to do so. This is most commonly achieved by having one survivor perform
eligible (have wounded a monster at least once with the weapon type), to gain the the surge survival action during the other's act. If a combined attack draws a monster's
proficiency? Trap, the entire combined attack is cancelled. The partners choose which survivor
"attempts to wound" the Trap. The chosen survivor is treated as the attacker for the
A: Yes. A survivor must still be eligible to gain weapon-specific weapon proficiency from
purposes of the Trap.
the Aftermath of a nemesis fight. Whether or not you are "eligible" is checked at the point
when weapon proficiency is gained. Eligibility is determined by whether or not you
wounded the monster at least once with a weapon that shares a type with the weapon
proficiency written on your survivor record sheet when you are checking whether or not
you are "eligible".
bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:10:56)

Q: Is it intentional that survivors could hypothetically grab repeated copies of the


Newborn/Sword of Silence (if they've been lost) from the 3-6 result on Baby and
the Sword without archiving the hunt event?

A: Yes. Hypothetically.
bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:09:37)

Q: The Tactic "Quad Strike" - can you only use it once per showdown or once per
round? bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:12:03)

A: If you would like the errata that will be appearing in a future card pack now, you may ❌ Q: The Armored Fist fighting art requires fist & tooth proficiency to work. If a
play with the rules as under the limitation of: Limit, once per showdown. I will not fist & tooth master has this fighting art and decides to switch to another weapon
disparage anyone who wants to take advantage of the rules as written until said release proficiency, will Armored Fist continue to work?

occurs though.
A: Yes. Weapon masters and specialists are proficient at the weapons they
master/specialize in. Proficiency is blanked when you switch weapon types unless a
weapon master is passively giving all survivors in the settlement a specialization.
bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:10:07)
Survivors with a specialization/mastery over a weapon are considered proficient with that
Q. How do you perform a Spiral Formation Attack? Can you perform a Spiral weapon. As per the Core Rules, survivors are Specialists in a weapon so long as either:

Formation Attack and a Combined Attack (Principle: Bonding- Devoted Union) 1) the Specialization milestone of that weapon proficiency is filled in their record sheet or
simultaneously? 2) a Weapon Mastery Innovation is granting them that Specialization. Sample Scenario
1: A Fist & Tooth Specialist loses Specialization by switching to another weapon
A: Spiral Formation currently suffers from timing ambiguity. Its text will be updated to proficiency. They can no longer benefit from the effects of Armored Fist. Sample
read: "During a survival opportunity, if the survivors are standing in this formation, you Scenario 2: A survivor reaches Fist & Tooth Mastery granting Fist & Tooth Specialization
may spend 1 survival to activate a weapon. This attack ignores all monster reactions. to all survivors in the settlement so long as the Innovation exists. All survivors can
Limit, once per showdown." in a future Update pack. Spiral Formation and Combined benefit from the effects of Armored Fist. Weapon Mastery innovations grant
Attack are both types of attacks, rather than attack modifiers. Different types of attacks specialization to all survivors in the settlement, in addition to their other weapon
cannot be used simultaneously (e.g.- Combined Attack and Charge). However, survivors proficiencies. Survivors with specialization in a weapon are specialists of that weapon.
may have multiple attack modifiers simultaneously affecting their attack (e.g.- Attacking
with Pounce using Fist & Tooth can gain both the benefits of Monster Claw Style and an
Attack Assist from Synchronized Strike).

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 01:10:37)

Q. If the Final Lantern holder dies during the showdown is the Horripilation status bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 03:26:27)

ended? If a survivor with the Superstitious disorder gains it after the original
Taste took some extra time to explain why the FAQ might not get some clarifications
holder dies, does this prevent the On Arrival effect? A. The Horripilation status does
made here, and why some will be simplified.
not end. I believe the question of Superstitious is addressed in the original Tasting
Notes, "On Arrival" is not a rule that requires activation.
A: It is intended.

cptfriendshipWed Dec 07 2022 03:29:30

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 03:42:48)

Q: Can Hybrid Armor sets be completed using Outfit?

A: No, Hybrid Armor sets require exactly the armor pieces listed on the backside of their
armor set cards.

bramithra (Wed Dec 14 2022 21:11:24)

Q: Should Manhunter Hat have the Outfit keyword?

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 03:45:25) A: Manhunter Hat's typographical error will be fixed in a future release.

Q: Do monsters without Indominable listed on their data cards/showdown page


still have it?
bramithra (Wed Dec 14 2022 21:15:18)
A: All monsters have Indomitable at Level 3+.
Q: When can you use Dried Acanthus?

A: But yes, Dried Acanthus is used "when a survivor suffers a severe injury". An effect
that allows you to choose to use it at a moment of your choosing would read as "When
you suffer a severe injury, you MAY archive this to ignore it".

bramithra (Wed Dec 07 2022 03:45:59)

Q: Gear rewarded in the Aftermath can potentially be lost if you do not toss gear,
is this intended?
bramithra (Wed Dec 28 2022 20:22:51) A: A disemboweled survivor dying during the Aftermath after defeating a monster causes
the Showdown to end in Victory with no living survivors. During such an occurrence,
Q: If a survivor is eligible for multiple Armor Set Bonuses, are they able to claim
resolve all applicable effects (e.g.- adding the monster to the Defeated Monsters section
all of them together?
of the settlement record sheet) while disregarding any that cannot occur (e.g.- survivors
A: Yes. gaining Hunt XP, as there are no survivors alive to do so). As all survivors have perished
during the Showdown Phase, any resources they were carrying or would gain from
Rewards are lost.

bramithra (Wed Dec 28 2022 20:23:41)

Q: How does the armor keyword interact with Accessory on the same item?

A: Survivors can only wear one piece of armor at each location, even if the gear has the
Accessory special rule. A piece of gear with the armor keyword and the Accessory
special rule will be affected by both effects that pertain to Accessories and effects that bramithra (Wed Dec 28 2022 20:25:41)
pertain to armor.
Q: One of the ingredients to craft Fetorsaurus, the Sleeping Virus Flower, is
Cursed. How does this work?

A: Players may spend the Sleeping Virus Flower to craft Fetorsaurus as if it were not
Cursed. A future product will update how crafting with the Sleeping Virus Flower occurs.

bramithra (Wed Dec 28 2022 20:24:12)

Q: Should expansions use the Rules Update for Special Showdowns found in the
core game rulebook?
bramithra (Wed Dec 28 2022 20:26:24)
A: Yes.
Q: Does Screaming Oni Armor Flay turn 1s into Perfect hits if they are the highest
roll, or are they still automatic failures?

A: Flay treats the two highest attack rolls of an attack with a dagger as Perfect hits,
regardless of numerical value. If the two highest attack rolls of the attack are 1s, they will
still hit and count as Perfect hits for the purposes of any effects that trigger on Perfect
bramithra (Wed Dec 28 2022 20:24:48) hits.

Q: When a disemboweled survivor dies at the end of the Showdown after


defeating a monster, does the Showdown end in Victory or Defeat? What happens
when a Victory occurs with no living survivors?
bramithra (Wed Dec 28 2022 20:27:03) bramithra (Fri Jan 20 2023 21:14:05)

Q: Does a survivor returned to the settlement prematurely via a stated effect ** Q: How does Convalescer work?**
during the Hunt or Showdown (e.g.- Run Away, Phoenix's Analtorium) count as a
returning survivor?

A: No. Survivors prematurely returned to the settlement are not treated as returning
survivors unless explicitly stated.

bramithra (Fri Jan 20 2023 21:15:40)

Q: Clarification on how many squares multiple monster showdowns occupy.


bramithra (Wed Dec 28 2022 20:27:42)

Q: How does doomed work?

A: Doomed prevents a survivor from performing any actions until they are no longer
doomed. This includes using fighting arts, knowledges, abilities, weapon proficiency,
armor set bonuses, survival actions, spending movement or activation, gear special
rules, resource effects, etc. bramithra (Fri Jan 20 2023 21:18:37)

Q: How do you go about nominating survivors with departure restrictions?

bramithra (Wed Dec 28 2022 20:28:42)

❌ Q: Is the Beast Kunai a weapon? It does not have the weapon keyword, but has
the dagger keyword. bramithra (Fri Jan 20 2023 21:20:00)

A: The Beast Kunai is not a weapon for keyword purposes (e.g.- Giant Mouth Reflex **Q: How/when do you apply multiple departing survivor effects? **

Reaction). It is a dagger for keyword purposes (e.g.- Aichmophobia, Weapon


Proficiency). The Beast Kunai can build dagger proficiency and take advantage of
dagger proficiency, as it has the dagger keyword.

bramithra (Wed Feb 01 2023 20:55:37)

Note about GCE.


bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:17:15)

Q: Intent of the new Insulated rule.

A: The gear does not need to have a armor value of their own.

bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:26:17)

❌ Q: Is rolling on the Hunt Event Table considered rolling on a table?


A: Yes.

bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:26:53)

❌ Q: Can Otherworldly Luck be used to avoid the Harvester Hunt Event by


changing a Hunt Event Table roll result of 10 to 11?

A: Harvester cannot be avoided in any way.

bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:27:19)

❌ Q: Does healing a permanent injury also remove the penalties incurred from
having that permanent injury?

A: Yes. (e.g.- A survivor that has -4 permanent accuracy and is retired solely due to
bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:23:09)
having two blind permanent injuries would only have -1 permanent accuracy and no
Q: Will the Tyrant continue to Crooked Step even without gates? longer be retired if one of their blind permanent injuries is cured, a survivor that cannot
use fighting arts due to a hamstrung permanent injury would be able to use fighting arts
A: Yes. (Also included is a clarification on archiving and what "it" refers to when no gates
again if their hamstrung permanent injury is cured, etc.)
remain.)

bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:27:41)

❌ Q: What are “indirect activations”?


A: Indirect activations refer to any effect that causes a piece of gear to activate that is knocked down and may ignore knockback.” An otherwise unoccupied space is
not present on the gear itself. This includes effects such as Charge, Pounce, Skewer, determined by whether or not the space is empty of any other models, tiles, tokens, and
Blood Paint, etc. Cumbersome is a gear special rule that places an additional activation terrain if the survivor is not occupying the space. This means that Immovable Object is
restriction (survivors must spend movement and activation to activate Cumbersome not applicable when a survivor is occupying a space that is occupied by another survivor,
gear) on the gear unless it is activated through an indirect activation. Indirect activations a space with terrain (whether it is impassable like Stone Columns or terrain that
do not bypass other additional activation restrictions (e.g.- Sentient) unless they are survivors are able to occupy the same space with like Tall Grass), a space with a token
explicitly stated to be able to do so. on it, a space that is occupied by the monster, etc.

bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:28:05) bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:29:49)

❌ Q: Charge does not mention attacking with a weapon, but does not mention ❌ Q: A survivor with Immovable Object suffers bash and knockback 10 while
you must activate the weapon first. Does that mean that you do not activate a standing on terrain. In the midst of their knockback, they move onto an otherwise
weapon when you attack with it using Charge? unoccupied space. What happens?

A: No. Attacking with a weapon is activating the weapon for the purposes of attacking. If A: Immovable Object does not retroactively prevent effects that occurred while it was not
a survivor is unable to activate a weapon due to an activation restriction (e.g.- Sentient), applicable. Even though the survivor is now in a position where they cannot be knocked
the are unable to attack with it. down and may ignore knockback due to the effects of Immovable Object, they are in the
midst of resolving an effect that occurred when they were not immune to being knocked
down or knocked back and must finish resolving the effect. The survivor finishes the
bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:28:26) knockback effect and remains knocked down.

❌ Q: Are Saviors immune to King’s Curse?


A: No. (The FAQ suggesting otherwise is an obsolete entry from a previous version of bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:30:11)
the game.)
❌ Q: Is a survivor affected by Whiplash if they are in the monster’s blind spot?
A: No. If a survivor is considered to be in the monster’s blind spot (e.g.- standing in the
bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:28:54) appropriate positioning, Zero Presence, etc.), they will not receive bleeding tokens due

❌ Q: Is the Virulent Incantation card correct? to Whiplash.

A: There are two typographical errors On Virulent Incantation. The statement “Target a
random survivor. Attack target, then discard this card.” should read as “Target a random bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:30:47)
survivor. Attack target.” In addition, the attack profile should not have an After Damage
trigger.
❌ Q: Sometimes there are scenarios where direct contradictions arise within the
rules (e.g.- Doomed prevents all actions while Warriors of the Sun- Reflection
allows a survivor to dodge at any time, even while doomed). What should be done
when such a scenario occurs?
bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:29:23)

❌ Q: How does the Immovable Object secret fighting art work? A: When conflict arises over direct contradictions in rules, apply specific rules found on
cards and story events (e.g.- Warriors of the Sun- Reflection) before any rules found in
A: There is a typographical error on Immovable Object. It should read as: “If you are in the rulebook core rules sections (e.g.- Core Rules pg 75- Doomed). When contradictions
an otherwise unoccupied space, you stand firm in the face of any force. You cannot be
arise between specific rules (e.g.- Path of Gloom and Stark Raving), rule against the bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:33:21)
survivors' favor.
❌ Q: The Brawler Armor set bonus states that the Skull Helm cannot be
destroyed. Does this protection include effects other than its own effect?

bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:31:18) A: Yes.

❌ Q: Does being able to dodge at any time mean that dodge can be performed
without spending survival?
bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 18:09:08)
A: No. Being able to dodge at any time is a modifying effect placed upon the dodge
Q: How do Elgnirk weapon proficiency changes affect Mastery Innovations?
survival action that allows you to perform dodge on occasions when dodge would
normally be prohibited (e.g.- while you are attacking, doomed, or otherwise unable to A: Sudden changes will result in gaining a new innovation.
perform survival actions). It does not modify the definition of dodge beyond this, which
consists of “when a survivor is hit, they may spend 1 survival to dodge, canceling a
monster hit. After hit locations are rolled, but before any severe injury rolls, the survivor
can dodge a hit of their choice.”

bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:31:43)

❌ Q: Should survivors continue to track leftover armor points during the


settlement phase? Can armor points from a previous lantern year stack with
armor points generated for departing survivors?
bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 18:13:15)
A: No. Armor points are not maintained during the settlement phase, and cannot be
Q: Are there any restrictions to the types of weapon proficiencies you can
“carried over”.
randomly select from?

A: Yes. Proficiencies that can not be selected via normal methods are excluded from the
bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:32:02) random selection process. This includes Twilight Sword, Katana, Scythe, Novel and

❌ Q: Does the 1-5 roll result on the Black Mask Innovation kill the endeavoring Armor Proficiencies. (At the current time.)

survivor?

A: Yes.

bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 05:32:29)


bramithra (Thu Feb 02 2023 18:23:06)
❌ Q: The Balcony and Throne terrain cards refer to the survivors standing. Does Q: Clarification on what is considered a "random result."
this refer to the gameplay sense of standing?
A: A dice roll needs to have taken place. Otherworldly Luck is still a random result, as
A: Yes.
you did roll the dice, however direct replacement (Thundercaller for example) is not.
bramithra (Tue Feb 14 2023 02:17:20)
bramithra (Thu Feb 09 2023 22:33:34)
Q: Can the Silk Nest terrain tile be archived during a showdown with Spidicules?
Q: Should Gorn have the noisy keyword?
A: The Silk Nest terrain tile has a typographical error. It should have the Indestructible
A: Gorn should have noisy the noisy keyword.
special rule.

bramithra (Tue Feb 14 2023 02:17:50)

bramithra (Sat Feb 11 2023 23:26:31) Q: If a monster is instructed to move or full move to/towards something (e.g.-
Move & Attack Target, Screaming Antelope’s Graze) does the monster end its
Q: Does wounding a minion count as wounding? movement adjacent to or on top of the target?

A: Wounding a minion counts as wounding. A: The monster ends its move adjacent to the target, facing the target.

bramithra (Tue Feb 14 2023 02:18:51)

Q: The 1-3 roll result of Gorm Climate instructs players to dismantle an


innovation, returning it to the innovation deck. What types of innovations can be
chosen to be returned to the innovation deck? Does dismantling an innovation
bramithra (Mon Feb 13 2023 04:20:29) count as archiving it?

Q: Is the blue box on records meant to replace or be in addition to the 7-10 result? A: All innovations that the settlement has access to are applicable to be dismantled.
When an innovation is returned to the innovation deck, the settlement loses access to
A: Unless otherwise stated, those boxes replace the other result. the effects associated with that innovation until it is gained again from the innovation
deck. Dismantling an innovation is not archiving it.

bramithra (Tue Feb 14 2023 02:19:31)

Q: If there are multiple copies of the same weapon in your gear grid, and the copy
bramithra (Tue Feb 14 2023 02:16:55)
you have designated to provide benefits is archived, can you designate another
Q: Are principles considered innovations? copy?

A: Principles are not settlement innovations. A: Yes.


bramithra (Tue Feb 14 2023 02:19:47)

Q: Can the Manhunter AI Piercing Blow archive indestructible terrain?

A: No.

bramithra (Tue Feb 14 2023 21:58:37)

Kickstarter prevents direct links to comments now. The very first round of questions are
asked on KS, before Taste joined the Discord.

bramithra (Tue Feb 14 2023 22:01:23)

bramithra (Tue Feb 14 2023 21:59:19)


bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 17:59:52)

Q: The flee brain trauma directs players to suffer knockback equal to their
movement towards the closest board edge. If the survivor is already adjacent to
the board edge, how do you resolve the knockback?

A: If knockback or monster movement starts at a showdown board edge and would go


off it, instead move along the board edge (see Core Game Rulebook pg. 72 for a further
clarifying diagram).

bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:00:10)

Q: If a monster is standing in between a survivor and the board edge nearest to


the survivor for the purposes of the flee brain trauma, what happens when that
survivor suffers flee?

A: The survivor suffers knockback equal to their movement towards the nearest board
edge, into the monster. If a survivor would suffer knockback into a monster, treat the tiles
the monster occupies as impassable terrain. The survivor suffers collision and stops
their movement in the last space before the monster.

bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:00:25)

Q: Can you obtain multiple copies of gear like Scoopy Club and Ancient Root if
you fulfill the conditions to gain the gear multiple times?
bramithra (Tue Feb 21 2023 18:05:42)
A: Yes.
This one might be errata, but I will add it here for now. When a monster is knocked
down it no longer has a facing, thus no blind spot. When it stands Monster Control
decides the new facing. bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:00:44)

Q: Are pieces of gear with attack profiles that do not have the weapon keyword
(e.g.- Bone Sickle, Corsair Coat) considered weapons?

A: No.

bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 17:59:18)


bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:00:58)
Q: Can survivors use Secret Fighting Arts when frenzied?
Q: Does the Corsair Coat attack if the survivor wearing it dashes into a space out
A: No. of range of the Corsair Coat?
A: No. A: When the Butcher is wounded, roll 1d10. On a result of 8+, the wound attempt fails
instead. Do not move any AI cards to the monster’s wound stack and perform any
applicable monster reactions due to the failed wound attempt.
bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:01:23)

Q: What facets of the survivor are considered permanent attributes?


bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:03:14)
A: A survivor's permanent attributes are their: movement, accuracy, strength, evasion,
Q: Gloom Man states ”when you move, place yourself anywhere on the showdown
speed, and luck.
board". Does this include all movement (e.g.- spending movement, knockback,
etc.)?

bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:01:46) A: Yes.

Q: Do armor points accrued from effects (e.g.- Shrine, Crystal Skin) count as
"wearing" armor for the purposes of effects that account for wearing armor gear?
bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:03:29)
A: No.
Q: None of the individual pieces that grant the Rolling Armor Set Bonus have the
armor keyword. Does that mean survivors can have the pieces of gear in their
gear grid even when effects such as Extreme Heat prevent survivors from wearing
bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:02:23)
armor with specific keywords?
Q: Heart Flute states “You play a trill note. Select any Nemesis” to trigger a
A: Yes.
special showdown with. Does this include Core and Finale monsters? Does this
include Nemeses not found in your campaign?

A: No. bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:03:46)

Q: The Outfit special rule states "This completes an armor set if you're wearing
the rest of the set and it shares a material keyword with the missing armor gear."
bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:02:40)
Can this be used with the Rolling Armor Set Bonus?
Q: How often does Bloodthirsty gain a token?
A: Outfit serves as a replacement for another piece of armor gear. As none of the
A: Any time a survivor suffers damage for any reason. For example, a survivor who individual pieces that grant the Rolling Armor Set Bonus are armor gear, none of them
suffers 2 hits of 1 damage from the White Lion’s Basic Action would put 2 tokens on can be replaced using Outfit.
Bloodthirsty. A survivor and their two adjacent survivors suffering damage from the
danger seizure brain trauma would put 3 tokens on Bloodthirsty.
bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:04:15)

Q: Does Spinning Halberd affect ammo? Does it affect wounds that occur from
bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:02:56)
non-ranged sources that narratively occur from a distance (e.g.- thrown Founding
Q: How does Invincible interact with Devastating? How does it interact with Stone, Deathpact)?
automatic wounds?
A: Ammo inherits the range of the weapon they are ammo for. For example, a Claw
Head Arrow inheriting the range of an Arc Bow in the survivor's gear grid has Range 6.
Attacks made with the "Range: X" special rule are ranged attacks. Spinning Halberd
does not affect wounds that occur from non-ranged sources. However, players may
come to a narrative consensus that an effect will not affect the monster while Spinning bramithra (Tue Apr 04 2023 03:30:16)
Halberd is in play due to its "ranged" nature.
Q: When performing a Forest Run during a Bloom People campaign, can players
include the Bleeding Corpse Lily strange resource when drawing random Flower
Resources?
bramithra (Mon Mar 13 2023 18:04:34)
A: Yes.
Q: Is there timing restrictions for naming an unnamed survivor?

A: No, unless an effect explicitly states otherwise.


bramithra (Tue Apr 04 2023 03:31:57)

Q: Clarification on how the Mechanical Heart beta gear works.


bramithra (Tue Mar 14 2023 21:45:33)
A: It is meant to be "persistent".
Q: Can an Eon Heart be used to fulfill a "perfect organ" requirement for crafting?

A: Yes.

bramithra (Tue Apr 04 2023 03:44:35)

Q: How exactly does Combined Attack work?


bramithra (Tue Apr 04 2023 03:28:52)

Q: Can a survivor with Sweet Battle without access to the Surge survival action A: Taste gave a step by step process, shown here.

perform Surge?

A: Yes. Sweet Battle states "you may use Sweet Battle even if your settlement cannot
normally surge. You may also use Sweet Battle when you have no survival and/or
cannot spend survival. This does not let you surge more than once per round.

bramithra (Tue Apr 04 2023 03:29:55)

Q: The rulebook states that survivors are always in the monster's field of view
unless they are in the monster's blind spot or the monster's line of sight is
blocked. The FAQ suggests that a survivor on a Giant Stone Face can be both in
the monster's field of view and blind spot at the same time. How can this be?

A: The FAQ entry is an obsolete one from an earlier version of the game. The Giant
Stone Face terrain has an explicit rule that "monsters may always draw a line of sight to
[survivors atop the Giant Stone Face]". Thus, a survivor atop a Giant Stone Face is
always in the monster's field of view, unless they are standing in the monster's blind
spot.
bramithra (Fri Apr 07 2023 17:16:24) Q: Can survivors that become the starting survivors for a new settlement via
Clinging Mists start a settlement that belongs to a different campaign from the
Q: What happens when a monster is knocked down and instructed to perform a
settlement they were originally from?
reaction?
A: Yes. Note that this may cause slight discrepancies or issues in regards to game rules.
A: All reactions are still performed, ignoring turn to face rules, as monsters do not have a
Where issues arise, players should determine as a group how they would like to resolve
facing while knocked down.Addition Fun Fact: Monster stand when performing
the issue, ruling against the survivors' favor when possible.
Basic Action.

bramithra (Thu Jun 01 2023 22:33:57)

Q: Can a survivor originally from a People of the Sun settlement with access to
the Embolden and Overcharge survival actions utilize these survival actions after
becoming a starting survivor for a different settlement?
bramithra (Thu Jun 01 2023 22:30:21)
A: No. In this instance, the survivor's ability to utilize the Embolden and Overcharge
Q: How does Hissing Cockroach work?
survival actions arose from settlement-specific innovations that do not exist within their

A: Any insane survivor must eat it, even while in storage. new settlement. Similarly, the survivor's survival limit is determined by the survival limit of
their new settlement and not the last known survival limit of their previous settlement.

bramithra (Thu Jun 01 2023 22:34:17)

Q: Do damage modifiers (e.g.- +1 damage tokens, +1 damage due the monster


level) increase the damage of attack profiles that have "-" listed as their damage?

A: No.

bramithra (Thu Jun 01 2023 22:37:26)

Q: Extreme Heat says survivors may not wear heavy gear. When a survivor is
prevented from wearing a gear type, they are unable to place that type of gear in
bramithra (Thu Jun 01 2023 22:33:11) their gear grid. How would you gain the White Sunlion Hybrid Armor set bonus to
ignore this if you cannot wear it to begin with?
Q: What happens when an insane survivor is adjacent to two other survivors with
Boss Mehndi in their gear grids? A: A survivor may elect to claim the White Sunlion Hybrid Armor set bonus by placing all
of the appropriate gear pieces in their gear grid. If all the pieces of gear associated with
A: The insane survivor would gain +2 speed while adjacent to the two other survivors. the White Sunlion Hybrid Armor Set have been placed on the gear grid and the Sunlion
Hybrid Armor set bonus is active for the survivor, the effect of the set bonus to ignore
Extreme Heat is applicable, allowing the survivor to wear the appropriate gear pieces. If
bramithra (Thu Jun 01 2023 22:33:35) this is not the case, the survivor must immediately remove any worn heavy gear within
their gear grid.
bramithra (Wed Jun 07 2023 20:27:33) bramithra (Tue Jun 13 2023 23:00:28)

Q: Can survivors learn the same ability twice? Q: Should Skull and Handed Skull have the skull keyword?

A: No. (unless stated otherwise.) A: Skull should have the skull keyword. Handed Skull is too large to be used as an
analogous material in crafting recipes that require skull resources to have the skull
keyword.

bramithra (Tue Jun 13 2023 23:00:49)

Q: When a survivor gains a nickname, would this qualify as "being named"? Can a
survivor have a nickname and no name?
bramithra (Tue Jun 13 2023 22:56:26)
A: No. Yes.
A clarification on how the weapon proficiency system works.

bramithra (Tue Jun 13 2023 23:01:09)

Q: How does the Dung Beetle Knight's Trap, Slam Dunk, work if the monster is not
adjacent to the attacker after it full moves directly towards the attacker?

A: If the monster is not adjacent to the attacker after it full moves directly towards the
attacker, it with neither place the monster in any space adjacent to the Resin Dung Ball
nor have the attacker suffer damage and gain the Smell World survivor status card.

bramithra (Tue Jun 13 2023 23:01:30)

Q: Are milestones considered events? Are they once per lifetime? The Milestone
section in the rulebook never mentions milestones are once per lifetime. Some
events that are triggered upon reaching a Milestone clarify that the specific event
itself is once per lifetime.

A: A milestone is a set of circumstances that can be fulfilled (e.g.- having 16 Hunt XP,
having 8 weapon proficiency levels, having 10 Death Count, etc.). Milestones are not
events. At baseline, milestones do not have rules associated with them. However, events
may occur when specific milestones are reached. These events occur at the moment the
specific milestone is reached. These events are generally known as Milestone Events
(e.g.- Hooded Knight is a Milestone Story Event that occurs when a settlement has 5
innovations. If Hooded Knight is not an available Story Event within your campaign,
nothing happens when your settlement reaches 5 innovations). Reaching certain
milestones may also cause certain rules to apply. In these instances, the additional rules
are only applicable while the milestone has been reached unless otherwise stated (e.g.- A: No.
A survivor that is only a spear specialist due to having 3+ levels of weapon proficiency
will no longer be a spear specialist if they no longer have 3+ levels of weapon
proficiency due to the Memory Loss brain trauma). bramithra (Tue Jun 20 2023 17:36:38)

Q: Could a Novel Sword Master activate Black Sword?

bramithra (Tue Jun 13 2023 23:02:23) A: No, they are no longer mechanically considered a Sword Master.

Q: How does Weapon Mastery innovation creation work? Innovations can be lost.
Does this mean that, because this is not a triggered event, nor once per lifetime,
that a Master will instantly recreate a lost Mastery Innovation? Is this the same for
a survivor with 8 proficiency levels starting a new settlement in a new game+?
They show up and instantly create the innovation in the new settlement? Do they
need the ranks still filled in on the their survivor sheet? When a Master switches
weapon proficiency types they still remain a master of that weapon type. Is this
enough to recreate an innovation? bramithra (Tue Jul 18 2023 00:21:49)

A: A Weapon Mastery innovation is created when a survivor has the max amount of Q: Can you benefit from Block and Deflect at the same time.
weapon proficiency levels on the corresponding weapon type. If a Weapon Mastery
innovation is lost while a survivor still has the max amount of weapon proficiency levels, A: No.

the Weapon Mastery innovation will be recreated. If a Weapon Mastery innovation is lost
after the survivor that reached the max amount of weapon proficiency levels has
changed their proficiency, the innovation will not be recreated.

bramithra (Tue Jun 13 2023 23:02:42)


bramithra (Sat Jul 22 2023 21:37:52)
Q: When a survivor reaches Mastery, they also become a “Master” of whatever
weapon type they had selected at the time. Where on the survivor record sheet
should this be written? Is this meant to be tracked? Is this considered an ability or
something else?

A: The survivor who achieved Mastery should be tracked, Players may record this
information in that survivor's record sheet or the settlement's record sheet. This is not
considered a survivor ability.

bramithra (Tue Jun 13 2023 23:03:00)

Q: If a Shield Master has the Shielderang fighting art and decides to switch bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:03:47)
weapon proficiencies, will they still be considered to have 8 levels of Shield
weapon proficiency? Q: What node is the White Gigalion? Do you gain CC from fighting it separately
from a White Lion?
A: The White Gigalion is a node 1 monster. It is not treated as a separate entity from the resolved) or discard any hit locations that have been moved to another area of play
White Lion for purposes of CC. (such as a hit location with a persistent injury that has been put in play due to a critical
wound effect).

bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:04:19)


bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:08:18)
Q: One of the roll results upon choosing "Collective Toil" during "Principle:
Society" states that survivors should gain 2 random White Lion resources. Should Q: Exhaustion (Scout Hunt Event 9) directs the Scout and a random survivor to
this be treated as 2 random Node 1 resources in campaigns that do not include swap gear grids. How does this work when a survivor has cursed gear?
the White Lion?
A: When swapping gear grids, any cursed gear remains with the survivor it is attached
A: Gain 2 random White Lion resources as instructed. These are Node 1 monster to. If this causes an overflow of gear in comparison to gear grid slots, refer to rules for
resources. However, do note that you will likely not have access to the Catarium or other Gaining Gear on the Hunt (Core Game Rulebook pg. 63). For example, the scout
settlement locations/gear recipe sources that require specific White Lion resources if switches gear grids with a survivor with 4 pieces of Regal Armor. This causes the
your campaign does not include the White Lion. survivor to remove the Regal Armor from their original gear grid (which the scout is
swapping onto) and place their cursed gear into the scout gear grid. If the scout gear
grid is already filled with gear, the survivor must archive gear from the scout gear grid
bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:04:52) until they are able to place their cursed gear into the grid.

Q: Does the clause "before you make a wound attempt/before making a wound
attempt..." (Blood Compass Lantern, Rawhide Bandana, etc.) mean "before
bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:08:39)
making any wound attempts in an attack" or "before making a wound attempt (on
a chosen hit location)"? Q: Can a gear with arrows in the Second Stomach survivor status card point to
another piece of gear in your gear grid? Can a piece of gear in the Second
A: The latter. This means that an effect that occurs "before making a wound attempt" in
Stomach survivor status card be pointed to by a piece of gear with arrows in your
an attack with multiple hit locations can occur before making a wound attempt against
gear grid? Can a gear in the Second Stomach survivor status card with affinity
any of these hit locations.
halves connect with another piece of gear in your gear grid with affinity halves?

A: No, no, and no. However, gear in the Second Stomach survivor status card are still
bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:06:59) treated as being in your gear grid for the purposes of affinity bonuses, so a gear with an
affinity bonus in the Second Stomach survivor status card can still gain its affinity bonus
effect if you have the prerequisite affinities completed in the rest of your gear grid.

bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:09:01)


bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:07:58)
Q: The Dark Impulse 3 knowledge allows a survivor to gain all of the positive
Q: What does "discard all hit locations from your attack" mean? attributes of another survivor they kill. What exactly does this entail?

A: When you are instructed to discard all hit locations from your attack, discard all hit A: Dark Impulse 3 allows a survivor to gain the permanent positive attributes (from
locations cards that are still in play due to your attack (e.g.- unresolved hit locations). Do baseline) of another survivor they kill. For example, a survivor with Dark Impulse 3 kills
NOT "re-discard" any hit locations from you attack that have already been placed in the another survivor with 6 movement, 1 strength, and -1 accuracy. The first survivor gains
hit location discard (such as hit locations from your attack that have already been +1 movement (as the killed survivor had +1 movement from their baseline of 5), +1
strength, and no accuracy (as Dark Impulse only grants positive attributes). Unless
otherwise qualified with a timing (e.g.- "until end of the attack"), attributes described in bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:14:37)
philosophies and their corresponding knowledge cards refer to "permanent attributes"
Q: Curse Conductor allows a survivor to gain the monster controller tile when
(Gambler's Chest Rulebook pg. 69). This means that Dark Impulse 3 does account for
they wound the monster with an arrow. Does this extend to the Death Die?
attribute tokens or other temporary attribute bonuses. Systemic Pressure and Torment
are survivor attributes and can be granted by Dark Impulse 3. Lumi, while a survivor trait A: No. Curse Conductor (and analogous effects such as Gloom Hammer) only allow
like survival or insanity, is not a survivor attribute. (Gambler's Chest Rulebook pg. 67). survivors to gain the monster controller tile, and do not extend to effects that replace the
monster controller tile, like the Death Die. If a survivor is instructed to gain the monster
controller tile while it is not in play, nothing happens.
bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:09:25)

Q: Placing 3 knowledge cards face up next to the Forum (Share) normally occurs
bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:15:02)
during the settlement phase setup once the settlement gains access to the Forum
settlement location. Do you place these 3 knowledge cards the first time the Q: Can the 1-2 and 7+ roll results of Baby and the Sword Hunt Event be rerolled?
Forum settlement location is gained, considering it is gained after settlement
phase setup? A: Yes. However, once players begin resolving the Harvester hunt event (Hunt Event
10), that particular event cannot be rerolled or avoided.
A: No.

bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:15:24)


bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:09:51)
Q: When a survivor is suffering from an effect that lowers their total affinities of a
Q: (Arc) Intimacy grants bonuses if you "earned [at least X] CC this year". color, how does this interact with an affinity bonus that requires puzzle affinities
However, CC is recorded during the Aftermath. Does this mean that you only gain of that color? How does this interact with Prismatic?
the bonuses for (Arc) Intimacy if you gained the requisite amount of CC during the
current lantern year? A: When a survivor is suffering from an effect that lowers their total affinities of a color,
an affinity bonus that requires puzzle affinities of that color is only active if the requisite
A: Collective Cognition is recorded during the Aftermath (specifically, after the Aftermath puzzle affinities are connected and the survivor has enough affinities of that color such
has been resolved) in order to minimize the chances of players forgetting to update their that the survivor is able to activate the affinity bonus even after adjusting their total
Collective Cognition. The intent behind the (Arc) Intimacy bonuses is to check if your number of affinities. A survivor with an effect that lowers their total affinities of a color and
Collective Cognition has increased in the current lantern year's settlement phase in Prismatic will decrease their total number of affinities by the appropriate amount, as
comparison to the last lantern year's settlement phase (the full phrase of which could not complete affinities of Prismatic survivors count as all colors.
fully fit within the confines of the story event).

bramithra (Sun Aug 27 2023 03:28:22)


bramithra (Tue Aug 22 2023 05:14:19)

Q: if a weapon mastery is dismantled by Gorm Climate while there is no


associated master in the settlement, is it placed in the innovation deck, or
returned to the weapon proficiency deck?

A: It is returned to the weapon proficiency deck. bramithra (Fri Sep 01 2023 03:37:34)
Q: Can you use monster controller while playing solo? Q: When and how do divergent ranks trigger?

A: Yes. No issues for solo players using monster controller. A: They can trigger at anytime, if they meet the conditions listed.

bramithra (Fri Sep 15 2023 00:08:27)

Q: How does pondering trigger?


bramithra (Fri Sep 01 2023 03:40:37)
A: You must be a returning survivor.
Q: How does gear interact when monster controller tile is no in play?

A: Those rules are not applicable.

bramithra (Thu Sep 21 2023 22:47:31)

bramithra (Fri Sep 01 2023 03:45:10) Q: Does the founding stone ability require line of sight when used on Coagulated
hit locations. (This applies to all cases, not just Coagulated hit locations. This is
Q: How many resources do you get from scavenger kit when fighting multiple just the question as it was asked.)
monsters.
A: The ability on founding stone is not an attack and is not making a wound attempt. It
A: 1. Scavenger kits has always been ambiguous. can be used from anywhere and does not follow line of sight rules.

bramithra (Fri Sep 01 2023 03:54:28)

Q: Immortal Spin, how does this work? It mentions moving 3 spaces forward.

A: It requires 3 spaces in a straight line.

bramithra (Fri Sep 15 2023 00:06:27)


A: When an ambush occurs, begin the showdown immediately unless there is language
present that explicitly suggests otherwise (e.g.- "when the showdown begins, the
survivors ambush the monster" or "when the showdown begins, the monster ambushes
the survivors").

bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 03:56:30)

Q: Knocked down survivors standing, and minion actions both take place at the
end of the monster's turn. Which occurs first?

A: When multiple effects or actions occur at the same time, the monster controller
decides the order in which the effects/actions occur.

bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 03:56:59)

Q: Can Undeathable (or other methods of avoiding death) avoid deaths that
cannot be avoided (e.g.- drawing Black Out and White Out simultaneously)?

A: No.

bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 03:57:37)

Q: Lion Knight's Left Claw and Lion Knight's Right Claw are non-identical paired
weapons. When activating a paired Lion Knight Claw, do you gain the effects of
bramithra (Fri Sep 22 2023 17:57:28)
the special rules of both Lion Claws, or only the one you are activating?
Q: Are Fist & Tooth and Dreaded Pack considered to be in "in your gear grid"?
A: When attacking with a Paired weapon, add the speed of the second weapon when
A: Fist & Tooth is not, Dreaded Pack is. If something is printed in the black space this attacking with the first. Do not account for any other aspects of the second weapon, such
indicates that it is part of the gear grid itself. as its accuracy/strength attributes or special rules. This includes special rules that
modulate the attributes of the weapon, like "+4 strength" or "+1 speed".

bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 03:58:07)

Q: Is the Pick Target of the Slenderman's AI cards affected by the monster being
bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 03:51:53) off the showdown board?

Q: When the monster ambushes the survivors, the showdown begins immediately. A: No. If the Slenderman starts its turn removed from the board, it draws and plays an AI
Does the same hold true if the survivors ambush the monster? card normally, and is placed on the showdown board only if instructed to by that card
(Slenderman Rulebook pg. 1).
bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 03:59:42) bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 04:04:23)

Q: Systemic Pressure and Torment are survivor attributes. Do you discard their Q: Can encounter monsters be ambushed?
corresponding tokens when swapping tokens with the Crimson Crocodile due to
A: Yes.
Sparkling Tongue?

A: Yes.
bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 04:06:22)

Q: When a Bone Eater draws an Opportunity Card, does the card effect replace the
bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 04:00:13)
Basic Action, or is the Opportunity performed in addition to the Basic Action, after
Q: Does the Crimson Crocodile's Death Count allow survivors without access to the attack profile has resolved?
surge the ability to surge?
A: The Opportunity is performed in addition to the Basic Action, after the attack profile
A: No. Effects that modify a survivor action do not grant access to that survival action has resolved (if there were any Perfect hits rolled during the attack profile to prompt an
unless explicitly stated (e.g.- Sweet Battle). Opportunity card to be drawn).

bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 04:01:05) bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 04:07:06)

Q: When using the arc survivor pillar, are survivors gained from events that grant Q: Does the Lonely Tree have a facing? How does the Lonely Tree interact with
+1 population (survivors gained from outside the settlement) also arc survivors? effects that require a survivor to be in the monster's facing (e.g.- Fixated)?

A: Yes. A: No. Effects that require a survivor to be in the monster's facing cannot occur against
the Lonely Tree (e.g.- Fixated survivors cannot attack the Lonely Tree).

bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 04:02:22)


bramithra (Sat Oct 14 2023 05:17:36)
Q: Extinguished Guidepost, Missing Statue, and the arc survivor pillar all direct
you to "replace a basic hunt event card with a specific new basic hunt event card. Q: If you already have a philosophy prior to getting 2 Hunt XP, and then during the
Does that also include specific basic hunt event cards, such as Dead Warrior, hunt reach the necessary Hunt XP to get to rank 2, do you adopt a new one or do
Sword in the Stone, etc.? you get to Rank 2 in your current one upon returning?

A: When replacing a basic hunt event card, replace a basic hunt event card that instructs A: Adopting a new philosophy takes precedence over ranking up your current one.
you to roll 1d100 on the Hunt Event Table.

bramithra (Sat Sep 30 2023 04:03:24)

Q: When is the philosophy deck shuffled?

A: After a survivor adopts a philosophy, all cards are returned to the philosophy deck and
shuffled.
bramithra (Sat Oct 14 2023 06:09:50)

The history of the Doomed discussion all in one place! Starting with the original Tasting
Note, the discussion that followed, me asking for a definition of "Action", and finally the bramithra (Sat Oct 14 2023 06:10:47)
conclusion 8 months later! A definition for Action!!
bramithra (Wed Oct 18 2023 00:32:25)

Q: When can a survivor preform Encourage?

A: Encourage happens at anytime.

bramithra (Sat Oct 14 2023 06:11:19)

bramithra (Sat Oct 14 2023 06:12:47)


bramithra (Thu Oct 19 2023 17:36:15)

Q: Do Arc survivors gain the benefits of age?

A: No. (For example, and event (Elder Council) tells a Arc Survivor to gain the benefits
Age.)

bramithra (Sat Nov 04 2023 05:57:07)

Q: How do Vermin Belly Boots work?

A: They work like the card says.


bramithra (Thu Oct 19 2023 17:39:29)

Additional clarity related to the above note. Events (For example, Fateful Feather) that
target age milestones do not remove rank milestones. Events that remove all fighting
arts do not remove knowledge.

bramithra (Sat Nov 04 2023 05:49:52)

Q: How does Gambler's After Damage work?

A: As long as a gambler dice was rolled, the after damage will work normally.
bramithra (Sat Nov 04 2023 05:58:54)

Q: How does Frenzy work for Knowledges/Fighting Arts?

A: They are all disabled. (Does not matter if they are passive or not.)
A: They cannot.

bramithra (Sat Nov 04 2023 05:59:04)

bramithra (Thu Nov 16 2023 00:17:36)

Q: Should Sprinter Armor use Lion Boots?

A: Yes.

bramithra (Sat Nov 04 2023 06:01:40)

Q: Can Torment and S. Pressure have negative values?

A: Yes. Negative values are not added to your rolls.


bramithra (Wed Nov 22 2023 06:21:08)

Q: Do you shuffle the Knowledge into the settlement deck if the survivor who
gains it doesn't have an available slot and decides not to gain the Knowledge?

A: Yes

bramithra (Thu Nov 23 2023 02:05:23

Q: Can you explain the forms of "removal"?

A: There are many kinds of removal.

bramithra (Wed Nov 15 2023 23:40:04)

Q: Can a survivor perform the same ballad twice using the smog singer set?
bramithra (Tue Dec 05 2023 23:52:55)

Q: Question about line of sight and models blocking it.

A: Models do not block line of sight.

bramithra (Sat Dec 02 2023 21:11:43)

Q: When Cloth is used in a recipe, does it mean the gear specifically?

A: No. You can use the gear or a resource of that type.

bramithra (Thu Dec 07 2023 02:25:23)

Q: How do Coagulated Hit Locations work when the croc is knocked down?

A: You fail automatically, the reaction is canceled because the monster is knocked down,
but this does take away your change to crit.

bramithra (Thu Dec 07 2023 02:25:40)

bramithra (Tue Dec 05 2023 17:24:33)

Q: Reach and Monster occupied spaces.


bramithra (Wed Jan 17 2024 22:40:54)
A: Future adjustment. (This will currently affect Bone Eaters and Smog Singers.)
Q: How do revealed duration cards work?
A: You resolve the face up when drawn effect. A: Yes. "Ambush (Survivors)" is a rule that affects all members of the hunting party.

bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 01:58:19)

Q: Follow up about Smog Gear.

A: That gear is not the same, it is only for that single survivor.

bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 01:55:45)

Q: If a slung Founding Stone fails to wound due to revealing a hit location without
a critical wound effect, do the appropriate reactions on the revealed hit location
(e.g.- Failure, Reflex) occur?

A: Yes.

bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 01:56:02)

Q: If the settlement creates an inspirational statue with Sculpture based on a


Fighting Art/Knowledge, can they later make another inspirational statue based on bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 01:58:52)
another Fighting Art/Knowledge to replace it?
Q: Does a survivor still have a field of view/line of sight while they are knocked
A: Unless another effect explicitly states otherwise, a settlement can only have one down? What is the relationship between field of view and line of sight?
inspirational statue. You cannot make another.
A: Yes. A survivor's field of view is everything that the survivor can draw a line of sight to.

bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 01:56:17)


bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 02:01:49)
Q: Do the effects of "resources with rules that are triggered when they are gained"
Q: Do newborn arc survivors born with fighting arts (e.g.- the Colluded Birth strain
occur again when the resources are regained from dead survivors at the end of a
milestone effect) have to perform the Vaultless Story Event?
victorious showdown?
A: Yes.
A: No. Resource effects that trigger when the resource is gained only trigger the first
time they are gained and do not trigger again when: a survivor gains a resource from
trading with another survivor, by recovering it from a fallen survivor, by taking it out of
bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 02:02:08)
settlement storage (e.g.- Satchel), etc.
Q: When the players Make Preparations during the Perfect Punt story event, they
are directed to archive "any gear" and record it onto the settlement record sheet
bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 01:57:22) of their next arc survivor campaign. Is "any gear" plural or singular in this
instance?
Q: Does the Vixen Tail prevent all survivors in the hunting party from being
ambushed? A: It is singular. Players may choose a single piece of gear with no restrictions to archive
and record onto the settlement record sheet of their next arc survivor campaign.
bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 02:02:29) bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 02:04:20)

Q: If a survivor that has permanently gained the priority target token (e.g.- Lantern Q: When you swap in a roll result with a stolen d10 using the High Roller
Hunger, Fuzzy Groin, etc.) leaves the showdown board (e.g.- Stone Face Cloak, knowledge, what happens to the original roll result?
Pod Imprisonment, etc.), does the monster resume regular targeting until the
A: It is discarded.
priority target token returns to the board?

A: Yes. While the priority target token is not in play, the monster is unaffected by it.
bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 02:04:42)

Q: Does stealing a d10 with the High Roller knowledge count as "ignoring a hit"
bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 02:02:49)
for the purposes of guardless?
Q: Ghostzerker directs you to treat all your tokens as death tokens. Do these
A: No. The use of High Roller to steal a d10 occurs after a monster's attack roll has been
tokens still count as their original token type? Can a survivor with the Ghostzerker
made, before determining hits/hit locations. A stolen d10 is no longer a part of the
and Lighteater knowledges consume tokens such as the priority target token?
monster's attack roll, and the monster's attack roll is treated as if it was made without
A: Tokens maintain their original token type while being treated as death tokens. Effects that d10, retroactively lowering the overall speed of the attack profile. Note that due to
that supersede/replace the original token type will explicitly state so. A survivor with the retroactive nature of this speed lowering, rare scenarios can arise where a monster
Ghostzerker and Lighteater can consume any token treated as a death token so long as rolling only 1 die for an attack profile may have this die stolen, leaving the monster with
another effect is not explicitly preventing the token from leaving play. no rolled dice in its attack roll. If this occurs, the monster does not then roll an additional
die to add to its attack roll to satisfy the rule of "an attack roll with less than one speed
still has one attack roll", as the speed adjustment is made ex post facto to the point in
bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 02:03:13) time which attack rolls were determined and made.

Q: The Find the Castle knowledge allows survivors to move diagonally when
performing an action that utilizes [MOV]. Does this refer to any action that is
bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 02:05:04)
performed by spending [MOV]?
Q: The Dreaded Pack is a piece of gear printed on a gear grid. Can it be archived?
A: Yes. Find the Castle is an effect that modifies the rules of movement for a survivor
during an action that spends [MOV]. If part of this action involves movement, a portion of A: No. Gear printed on gear grids (e.g.- Dreaded Pack, Vignette Survivor Gear Grids,
that movement may be diagonal instead of orthogonal as dictated by Find the Castle. Squire Survivor Gear Grids) cannot be archived except by an explicitly stated
Note that Find the Castle is not an effect that grants "additional diagonal movement" on circumstance. The only current way for the Dreaded Pack to be lost is by the effects of
top of any action that spends [MOV], and would not grant a survivor that is performing an Lost to the Darkness (Gambler's Chest Rulebook pg. 101- The Dreaded Pack is Lost).
action that spends [MOV] without a movement component (e.g.- Cumbersome, Saw) the
ability to move additional spaces not normally part of the action. Also note that the ability
to move diagonally does not supersede any other requirements the action spending bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 02:05:25)
[MOV] may impose (i.e.- The Slam action stipulates that the survivor must full move, and
Q: If a survivor ceases to exist or is exiled, should they be included in the death
that the movement must be in a straight line. Thus, a survivor with Find the Castle 3
count?
performing Slam could neither choose to only move diagonally 3 spaces if their
movement attribute is greater than 3, nor move 3 spaces diagonally followed by the rest A: No.
of the spaces orthogonally as this would not form a straight line).
bramithra (Mon Jan 22 2024 02:05:59)
bramithra (Wed Mar 06 2024 23:54:23)
Q: Do effects that "cancel all other ongoing actions" (e.g.- Spark of Joy) entail
discarding all other cards in the play area (e.g.- Traits, Moods, Traps, Survivor Q: How many reactions does Count Armor Set cancel?
Statuses, Gear)?
A: One Wound reaction.
A: No. Cards in play are not equivalent to "ongoing actions". An effect that cancels all
other ongoing actions would only affect actions, not cause all cards in play to leave play
nor stop rules without an in-progress action component (e.g.- a survivor having +1
evasion from an equipped Monster Grease would maintain their +1 evasion and a
survivor with 2 deflect tokens from a Deflect 2 action performed the previous turn would
keep their deflect tokens. On the other hand, a survivor or monster mid-attack would end
their attack).

bramithra (Mon Feb 12 2024 23:17:16)

Q: When using the Arc Survivor pillar in Sun and Stars, what intimacy table should
be used?

A: Sun and Stars.

bramithra (Sun Mar 03 2024 16:37:28)

Q: What does it mean when you are instructed to shuffle a deck? bramithra (Wed Mar 06 2024 23:54:38)

A: You shuffle both the draw and discard together, returning then all face down.

bramithra (Wed Mar 06 2024 23:55:34)

Extra Clarity: This means Count Armor Set and Cleaver Specialization work the
bramithra (Sun Mar 03 2024 16:37:41) same, but have different wording.

-- That is the end of the newest clarifications. At times Taste might jump in
<#272098152419426305> and make additional clarifications outside of the Tasting
Notes. Please do not post here. I will delete this message when I add more clarifications.
--
A: Step 1 of the Wound process.

bramithra (Fri Apr 05 2024 02:05:37)

Q: Does Tinker work in the Squire Campaign. Also, can squires do other endeavor
actions?

A: No. and No.

bramithra (Tue Apr 16 2024 21:37:10)


bramithra (Fri Mar 15 2024 19:12:23)
Q: Mineral Gathering Lantern City 5-8 results have you gain 3 Scrap basic
Q: What tokens are considered to be "your tokens"?
resources. This is not possible, how should this read?
A: Tokens on gear cards and survivors status cards are considered to belong to those
A: A yawning forge stands cold in the center of the city. Dismantling it, you gain 4 Iron
said cards, not your survivor.
strange resources and add 3 Broken Lantern basic resources to the settlement storage.

bramithra (Wed Apr 24 2024 21:24:11)


bramithra (Fri Mar 15 2024 19:12:43)
Q: When do "end of the showdown" effects (like Frenzy) end?

A: The end of the showdown effects end when the monster is defeated. Effects lasting
for the showdown phase end after the aftermath.

bramithra (Thu Apr 04 2024 23:01:26)

Q: When is the check to determine if you are still within range for your attack to
continue made?
bramithra (Wed Jun 19 2024 21:35:29)

Follow up clarity: This will also affect things that continually cause (Giggling Scythe)
critical wounds. You will need to line up your HL cards in a resolution order that will
bramithra (Thu May 16 2024 21:48:16) cause the most critical wounds, once you reach a HL with no effect, the effect ends.

Q: How does a monster move when it is instructed to move adjacent to terrain?

A: It moves so it is not on the terrain and no spaces are between it and the terrain.

bramithra (Fri Jun 07 2024 03:17:40) bramithra (Sat Sep 14 2024 19:15:07)

Q: Do replacement effects that manipulate the monster in some fashion count as Q: Do you need to move the full 4+ spaces to "slam"?
AI manipulation.
A: You do not need to move the 4+ spaces.
A: Not all replacement effects are considered AI manipulation. Some effects (like
Preserved Dogpole and Riot Mace) are not deck manipulation. Other effects (Game
Master) both replace a rule and manipulate the AI deck. For example, Game Master will
not work while a duration card is face up on the top of the deck. Riot Mace will work
while duration card is face up on top of the deck.

bramithra (Tue Oct 15 2024 17:13:23)

Q: Is deathmetal considered metal?

A: Deathmetal is not the same as the metal keyword. It is not metal.


bramithra (Wed Jun 19 2024 21:33:27)

Q: For effects that cause Automatic Critical wounds (like Precision X), what
happens when you hit a location with a no critical effect.

A: They fail.
A: Yes, unless otherwise stated.
bramithra (Sat Nov 16 2024 06:19:14)

Q: How do you resolve the trap while using the Phoenix Tablet in the event it is
discarded?

A: Resolve it when you discard it.


bramithra (Thu Nov 21 2024 18:08:15)

bramithra (Tue Nov 26 2024 01:37:33)

Q: How does the Master Key strange resource work? What is a locked
requirement?

A: It ignores a requirement with a lock symbol. It does not act as a Portcullis Key.

bramithra (Sat Nov 16 2024 06:22:03)

Q: What does it mean when a sculpture knowledge is always shared at the forum?

A: It is shared when other knowledges are shared, then treated as normal.

bramithra (Fri Jan 17 2025 00:16:52)

Meltdown from Dragon King needs errata. The first part in "Caught in the
Disintegration Wave" should read: "All survivors in the Meltdown Zone suffer 1 damage
bramithra (Thu Nov 21 2024 18:08:13)
for each -1 toughness token that the monster has to ⭐ hit locations."
Q: When you nominate a survivor before rolling a dice on a table, does it mean
that the survivor is rolling on the table? (For example, would two survivors with
Otherworldly Luck both add to intimacy rolls?)
A: No depart bonuses, but you do gain arrival bonuses.

thealuminumman (Wed Jan 29 2025 17:06:45)

Q: For the purpose of Graves are Special Showdowns and Encounter Showdowns
considered taking place during the Settlement Phase/Hunt Phase respectively, or during
the Showdown Phase?

A: Showdowns are Showdowns.

bramithra (Fri Jan 17 2025 00:17:02)

bramithra (Wed Jan 22 2025 22:45:35)


bramithra (Fri Jan 31 2025 01:36:04)
Q: Do vignettes do depart and arrival bonuses?
-- That is the end of the newest clarifications. At times Taste might jump in
<#272098152419426305> and make additional clarifications outside of the Tasting
Notes. Please do not post here. I will delete this message when I add more clarifications.
If you want to "search these to the best of Discords ability", in the search bar type "In:"
"Forum:" then try searching. It will search all forums, but have to work with what is
given.--

You might also like