Click-through rate (CTR) - CTR tells us how much impact the ad itself has had on prospects.
Formula: (Clicks ÷ Impressions) × 100
Example: If 1,000 people see an online ad and 50 click to learn more about the product.
The CTR for this online ad would be?
Solution: (50÷ 1000) × 100 = 5%
Cost per click (CPC) - is the amount charged by digital advertising platforms
Formula: Total money spent ÷ Number of clicks
Example: If a business spends $100 and gets 50 clicks. What is the cost per click?
Solution: $100 ÷ 50 = $2
Cost Per Action (CPA) - This metric is important when it comes to finding a model that
allows a brand to pay for certain actions only.
Formula: Total cost ÷ Number of actions
Example: If 10 people buy something from an ad that cost $200. How much is the CPA?
Solution: $200 ÷ 10 = $20
Conversion Rate - It tells you how many of the leads generated by your advertising or digital
marketing strategy actually became current customers.
Formula: (Customers ÷ Leads) × 100
Example: If 100 people showed interest and 10 bought something. What is the conversion
rate?
Solution: 10 ÷ 100 × 100 = 10%
Percentage of Customers From Digital Marketing - This ratio tells you the percentage of
customers that have been generated by your online advertising or digital marketing
activities.
Formula: (Digital Customers ÷ Total Customers) × 100
Example: In one month, a company gained 120 customers, and 75 came from online
marketing. What percentage of customers came from digital marketing?
Solution: (75 ÷ 120) × 100 = 62.5%
Return on Investment (ROI) - is an important metrics when we want to know how effective
an online advertising or digital marketing strategy is and if the efforts were profitable.
Formula: (Profit – Cost) ÷ Cost
Example: A company earned P4,500 in profit from a campaign that cost P900. What is the
ROI?
Solution: (P4,500 – P900) ÷ P900 = P3,600 ÷ P900 = P4
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) - is a metrics that tells us how much it costs you to
acquire a new customer.
Formula: Total marketing cost ÷ Number of new customers
Example: A business spent P3,000 on digital marketing and gained 120 new customers.
What is the CAC?
Solution: P3,000 ÷ 120 = P25 per customer
Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) - is the total amount of value a client generates during the
time he or she remains a customer.
Formula: Monthly Spend × Number of Months
Example: Each customer spends P50 per month, and stays with the company for 18
months. What is the CLV?
Solution: P50 × 18 = P900 per customer
Churn Rate - This is the metric that tells you how many customers cancelled their
payments or orderings
Formula: (Lost Customers ÷ Starting Customers) × 100
Example: At the beginning of the month, a subscription service had 500 customers. By the
end, 25 had cancelled. What is the churn rate?
Solution: (25 ÷ 500) × 100 = 5%