Have you searched for an existing feature request?
Brief Summary
With regard to the issue #12491, there should be a setting for whether changing the state (opened, closed) for a folder will mark the database as modified.
Example
With the setting deactivated: In the tree view on the left, opening a closed folder, or closing an opened folder, by double-clicking it or click on the arrow, the database is not marked as modified. A subsequent save do save the state of the folder, as it does today.
With the setting activated: In the tree view on the left, opening a closed folder, or closing an opened folder, by double-clicking it or click on the arrow, the database is marked as modified, as today. A subsequent save do save the state of the folder, as it does today.
The default value of the setting should be activated, for backwards compatibility.
Context
We often browse our database, since sometimes we are not sure of how a specific entry is named and where it is placed (for historic reasons). In doing so, the database gets marked as modified. When restarting the computer, this blocks a restart. Also, it is disturbing to see that the database is marked as modified without any data actually modified.
This new behaviour is the same as the KeePass app on Windows; it does save the state of each folder, but opening or closing folders does not mark the database as modified.
Another, not fully resolving, resolution to this would be to have an option to always open all folders (not the Recycle bin) when opening a database. However, that might impact users with very large databases. As a reference, our database contains nearly 700 entries. I'm not sure if that qualifies as very large, but we do have a lot of folders.
Have you searched for an existing feature request?
Brief Summary
With regard to the issue #12491, there should be a setting for whether changing the state (opened, closed) for a folder will mark the database as modified.
Example
With the setting deactivated: In the tree view on the left, opening a closed folder, or closing an opened folder, by double-clicking it or click on the arrow, the database is not marked as modified. A subsequent save do save the state of the folder, as it does today.
With the setting activated: In the tree view on the left, opening a closed folder, or closing an opened folder, by double-clicking it or click on the arrow, the database is marked as modified, as today. A subsequent save do save the state of the folder, as it does today.
The default value of the setting should be activated, for backwards compatibility.
Context
We often browse our database, since sometimes we are not sure of how a specific entry is named and where it is placed (for historic reasons). In doing so, the database gets marked as modified. When restarting the computer, this blocks a restart. Also, it is disturbing to see that the database is marked as modified without any data actually modified.
This new behaviour is the same as the KeePass app on Windows; it does save the state of each folder, but opening or closing folders does not mark the database as modified.
Another, not fully resolving, resolution to this would be to have an option to always open all folders (not the Recycle bin) when opening a database. However, that might impact users with very large databases. As a reference, our database contains nearly 700 entries. I'm not sure if that qualifies as very large, but we do have a lot of folders.